Actually, the lack of the word "can" is pretty vital.
Critical Hit: "If you roll a 20 on the die when making an attack roll, you score a critical hit if your total attack roll is high enough to hit your target’s defense..." Precision has no effect on that whatsoever.
Of course it wouldn't. It is about situations other than rolling natural 20, and says only a natural 20 is an automatic hit. So, no it wouldn't have an effect on this, and it -explicitly tells you why.-
What does the word 'can' have to do with that? The word 'can' doesn't appear in Precision -either-. In fact, that's the point, Precision refers to 'score a critical hit' not 'can score a critical hit.' So, the fact you suggest 'score a critical hit' is so definate is somewhat suspicious, as that's the -very phrase that evokes Precision- to begin with.
Holy Ardor: "Whenever you make two attack rolls because of your oath of enmity, you score a critical hit if both dice have the same roll, except if both rolls are 1."
This, on the other hand, is -not- a natural 20. So the reason Precision doesn't apply to the former isn't applicable here.
Looking at that, what do we see?
We see that Holy Ardor replaces "you score a critical hit if your total attack roll is high enough to hit your target’s defense" with "you score a critical hit if both dice have the same roll."
Which Precision still applies to, because the -reason- Precision doesn't apply to a natural 20 is explicit in Precision itself. Holy Ardor does not benefit from that exclusion. Are you trying to suggest that Holy Ardor is Natural 20? I don't think so.
So could you please explain this point better? Please explain how Precision's explicit exclusion of Natural 20s has to do with Holy Ardor? There's something not communicated here.
Case closed. It really is as easy as that. I think that there is a lot of over-thinking going on here.
Yes, it really -is- as easy as that. Precision has no reason not to apply to Holy Ardor. The reason it doesn't apply to Natural 20 is because it blatantly says it doesn't apply to natural 20, and at the same time, says it -does- apply to not rolling natural 20. So show me text that blatantly says that it doesn't apply to Holy Ardor, and you have a point.
(This does not change my position that you could rule either way at an LFR game as a DM and be correct.)
Your position would be a lot easier to understand if you had a rule supporting it, as opposed to a rule telling you no.
That's the problem, it isn't that you don't have suggestions that it's yes, but you
have an unexcepted rule that says No.
No exception exists that we can see, and everything you've done to try to point it out -doesn't work-.
See above. You're using Precision's explicit exclusion and saying that it applies to Holy Ardor because Holy Ardor uses similiar language to Natural 20. An example of how that doesn't work:
Hit: You slide the creature 2 spaces.
Other ability:
Hit: You push the creature 2 spaces.
Clearing the two abilities must be exactly the same because they use similiar templating? Oh the rules about what the difference between push and slide are? Irrelevent, because abilities that are written almost the same must be adjudicated the same way, regardless of what rules say.
See? Nonsensicle argument form.
So, you need to establish a few more premises in order to establish that argument. Please fill in the blanks there.