[sblock=H.M.Gimlord]
- SR and GC both require your character to be adjacent to the target if they are to be used in an OA.
- If your character is not in bestial form, SR and GC cannot be used in an OA because changing to bestial form requires a minor action, and these powers can only be used in bestial form.
My point about SR/GC was only relevant if you're going with the most restrictive interpretation, that the
druid must be adjacent to trigger Fire Hawk Attack. In that case, it's worth pointing out that if the adjacent druid uses Fire Hawk Attack,
that would draw an OA from the target, since it's a ranged attack! So yeah, even more than 100% worthless!
But going with the less restrictive, any ally is adjacent interpretation...
Gotta disagree with you there. Though the shifting ability of the kobolds in this adventure make reduce its power, FH is extremely powerful. I don' t know of any other power that lets you get an OA on a creature that is as far as 10 squares away..
We'll see. Everyone can shift one square. And if they're surrounded, or have restricted actions (i.e., dazed), it's just piling on... so maybe it will be a decent finisher, I suppose.
Certain skirmishers with bonuses to AC against OAs might provoke with movement more casually... but of course they'll consequently be harder to hit.
But the fundamental problem is that the druid will have to anticipate the monster's action in advance, choosing what amounts to a weak single target power on the gamble that the enemy will do something stupid. The druid can't switch to beast form and still use the opportunity attack, so his own actions are further restricted.. It's not even really providing any control beyond what the adjacent ally is doing already. We'll see, but I expect that other powers will almost always be a better option. (If not other powers that Hergunna actually has, other powers she might have chosen instead of Fire Hawk, i.e. Storm Spike, Fire Seed, or even Thorn Whip.)
This also opens up some cans of worms. Such as, if the adjacent ally is dazed or otherwise unable to make OAs, does Fire Hawk Attack still trigger?
Thanks. I don't like it when I make a ruling that favors the DM, but I'm just calling this one how I see it. If you want, we can bring this up on the discussion thread and pound out an official ruling. I'm game, but for now, we'll do it this way.
Yeah, I think it's probably a good idea to bring it up for wider discussion.
Also, I wrote to WotC customer service. The response is... extremely unenlightening. To be honest, I can't even tell which side he's coming down on (or if he even is). But for the record, here it is:
[sblock=Cust Serv]Q: Regarding the Druid at-will power Fire Hawk, from Primal Power. The follow-on "Fire Hawk Attack" is an opportunity action with the trigger, "The target takes any action that can provoke opportunity attacks." This is unclear in cases where the action would provoke an opportunity attack only if an enemy is adjacent, e.g., moving or making a ranged or area attack.
So, if the target moves or makes a ranged or area attack, and the druid is not adjacent to the target, and no ally of the druid is adjacent to the target, does it trigger the Fire Hawk Attack?
A: I understand your confusion the wording on that can be some what tricky. The action the opponent takes has to actively provoke and attack of opportunity, I realize the word "can" muddles the situation, but instead try thinking of it as the opponent takes an action that leaves them actively vulnerable..I hope this clears things up feel free to forward on any other questions to us.
We would appreciate your feedback on the service we are providing you. Please click here to fill out a short questionnaire.
To login to your account, or update your question please click here.
Shawn
Online Response Crew
Wizards of the Coast[/sblock]
[/sblock]