Ok,
In a good session last night we had a really big combat against some nice BBEGs.
One of our newer members has created a fighter character around Attacks of Opportunity (AoO).
He has amoung others:
- Karmic Strike in which you declare that you are taking a -4 AC to take retributive strike against a character that hits you and does more than 10 damage.
- Epic Combat Reflexes which allows unlimited AoO.
Now in the rules it states the following:
So if a BBEG attacks said character (who has Karmic Strike) with a full attack options does each attack provoke a separate AoO with Karmic Strike or should it be considered one AoO opportunity.
In last nights session, the BBEG hit the player, he took his Karmic Strike and used a Disarm attack to disarm the BBEG on his first attack. As a free action the BBEG drew another weapon (quick draw) and hit him again with his second attack, we (at the time considered it a separate AoO opportunity, and thus the character got a second Karmic strike against him (he hit for more than 10). and he disarmed him again. The BBEG drew another dagger as a free action (can you get multiple quick draws in one round?) and again hit the player, and again he made another disarm sending the dagger flying. The BBEG finally just started pummeling him with his fists as he was out of weapons for his last attack.
Was this right? This seems a little powerful if allowed to do it against all foes?
Also is Karmic Strike declared against a single foe or just in general thus can be used against multiple foes if such engaged?
The character is also a Half-Ogre with a Spiked Chain, thus has a 20' reach and gets lots of AoO.
Any input is appreciated.
In a good session last night we had a really big combat against some nice BBEGs.
One of our newer members has created a fighter character around Attacks of Opportunity (AoO).
He has amoung others:
- Karmic Strike in which you declare that you are taking a -4 AC to take retributive strike against a character that hits you and does more than 10 damage.
- Epic Combat Reflexes which allows unlimited AoO.
Now in the rules it states the following:
Combat Reflexes and Additional Attacks of Opportunity: ...This feat does not let you make more than one attack for a given opportunity, but if the same opponent provokes two attacks of opportunity from you, you could make two separate attacks of opportunity (since each one represents a different opportunity).
So if a BBEG attacks said character (who has Karmic Strike) with a full attack options does each attack provoke a separate AoO with Karmic Strike or should it be considered one AoO opportunity.
In last nights session, the BBEG hit the player, he took his Karmic Strike and used a Disarm attack to disarm the BBEG on his first attack. As a free action the BBEG drew another weapon (quick draw) and hit him again with his second attack, we (at the time considered it a separate AoO opportunity, and thus the character got a second Karmic strike against him (he hit for more than 10). and he disarmed him again. The BBEG drew another dagger as a free action (can you get multiple quick draws in one round?) and again hit the player, and again he made another disarm sending the dagger flying. The BBEG finally just started pummeling him with his fists as he was out of weapons for his last attack.
Was this right? This seems a little powerful if allowed to do it against all foes?
Also is Karmic Strike declared against a single foe or just in general thus can be used against multiple foes if such engaged?
The character is also a Half-Ogre with a Spiked Chain, thus has a 20' reach and gets lots of AoO.
Any input is appreciated.
Last edited: