D&D 5E (2024) Artificer: Spell Storing Item?

Very mixed responses.

RAW it seems to be a yes though as an upcast spell is aspell of that level.

As mentioned earlier.

Reread the rules.

Cure wounds is an artificer spell. Infused item qualifier.

Upcasting it makes it a level 3 spell.

RAW you can stick it in an item it seems.
I really wish people wouldn't talk down to someone who disagrees with them. I've read the rules, and i just think you're wrong about RAW.

Spell Storing Item does not have 3rd level spell slots- not only does it has daily uses, but you can cast an equal number of second level spells as you can 3rd level spells. As such, it falls under Casting Without Slots, as per Chapter 7 of the PHB. As such, there's no way for "the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into." (PHB, ch7, "Using a Higher Level Spell Slot")

Therefore, we default to the spell level printed in the spell description for these slot-less spell casts.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I really wish people wouldn't talk down to someone who disagrees with them. I've read the rules, and i just think you're wrong about RAW.
I think it is not totally clear.

The ability should just state that all spells are automatically upcast to level 3.
You should not feel bad when you put a level 1 spell into it.

The difference between mystic arcanum is that the artificer has those spells available and can put them into the item, and the warlock learns a spell from a list.

As I said, unclear. And I happily ignore RAW and sage advice, as they don't make the game actively better at times.
 

You can't upcast with the Spell-Storing Item because you aren't casting with it at all.

It simply allows you to produce the effect(s) of a spell from your Artificer spell-list.

This is similar to casting, in that both involve producing the effect, but simply producing the effect without casting means there is nothing to Counterspell, while at the same time, this item doesn't interact with features that link with spellcasting.

I suggest comparing the description of this item to multiple magic items that contain spells, as well as to potions.
 

Remove ads

Top