D&D 5E (2024) Artificer: Spell Storing Item?

Very mixed responses.

RAW it seems to be a yes though as an upcast spell is aspell of that level.

As mentioned earlier.

Reread the rules.

Cure wounds is an artificer spell. Infused item qualifier.

Upcasting it makes it a level 3 spell.

RAW you can stick it in an item it seems.
I really wish people wouldn't talk down to someone who disagrees with them. I've read the rules, and i just think you're wrong about RAW.

Spell Storing Item does not have 3rd level spell slots- not only does it has daily uses, but you can cast an equal number of second level spells as you can 3rd level spells. As such, it falls under Casting Without Slots, as per Chapter 7 of the PHB. As such, there's no way for "the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into." (PHB, ch7, "Using a Higher Level Spell Slot")

Therefore, we default to the spell level printed in the spell description for these slot-less spell casts.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I really wish people wouldn't talk down to someone who disagrees with them. I've read the rules, and i just think you're wrong about RAW.
I think it is not totally clear.

The ability should just state that all spells are automatically upcast to level 3.
You should not feel bad when you put a level 1 spell into it.

The difference between mystic arcanum is that the artificer has those spells available and can put them into the item, and the warlock learns a spell from a list.

As I said, unclear. And I happily ignore RAW and sage advice, as they don't make the game actively better at times.
 

You can't upcast with the Spell-Storing Item because you aren't casting with it at all.

It simply allows you to produce the effect(s) of a spell from your Artificer spell-list.

This is similar to casting, in that both involve producing the effect, but simply producing the effect without casting means there is nothing to Counterspell, while at the same time, this item doesn't interact with features that link with spellcasting.

I suggest comparing the description of this item to multiple magic items that contain spells, as well as to potions.
 

If you allow this, does it break the game (e.g. by making artificers far more powerful than any other class)?

If you allow this, does it break the lore of your setting?

If the answer to both of theses is no, then there is no reason not to allow it.
 

If you allow this, does it break the game (e.g. by making artificers far more powerful than any other class)?

If you allow this, does it break the lore of your setting?

If the answer to both of theses is no, then there is no reason not to allow it.
. Kinda changed my mind. RAW anyway.

RAI not sure about.

I would probably allow it as the class needs help. Well some subclasses at least.
 

off topic, fix upcasting;

for damage spells, it's waste of an ink ever writing upcasting options.
No it's not. The point is that you have a limited amount of spell known/prepared options; the caster is choosing between the full-damage higher-level option OR having a utility option and relying on upcasted lower-level spells when they need a damage option.

Upcasting, when combined with limited spell access, is one of the best-designed aspects of the 5e chassis as a whole.
 

No it's not. The point is that you have a limited amount of spell known/prepared options; the caster is choosing between the full-damage higher-level option OR having a utility option and relying on upcasted lower-level spells when they need a damage option.

Upcasting, when combined with limited spell access, is one of the best-designed aspects of the 5e chassis as a whole.

They were saying upcasting damage dealing spells. Most of the time its a bad idea.

Damage dealing spells are usually inefficient.
 

I read the opposite of you.

Whenever you finish a Long Rest, you can touch one Simple or Martial weapon or one item that you can use as a Spellcasting Focus, and you store a spell in it, choosing a level 1, 2, or 3 Artificer spell that has a casting time of an action and doesn’t require a Material component that is consumed by the spell (you needn’t have the spell prepared).

You are choosing the spell, not the level it is cast at
Cure Wounds is an artificer spell. A Cure Wounds cast with a 3rd level slot is a 3rd level artificer spell. Ergo, it can be spell-stored.

There's nothing I know of in RAW that says the base level of a spell is an intrinsic property of the spell. The actual level of a spell is only defined by how it is used.
 


Cure Wounds is an artificer spell. A Cure Wounds cast with a 3rd level slot is a 3rd level artificer spell. Ergo, it can be spell-stored.

There's nothing I know of in RAW that says the base level of a spell is an intrinsic property of the spell. The actual level of a spell is only defined by how it is used.

I think thats the RAI.

The kicker is the upcasting rules. Cure wounds in a 3rd level slot is only 3rd level when cast.

You're not casting the spell with your class ability.

I would probably allow it tbh adding a line of errata.
 

Remove ads

Top