Zardnaar
Legend
Don't you cast the spell from the item?
Yes but you cant infuse the higher level slots RAW.
RAI I think you probably shoukd be able to. Seems like something the designers may have overlooked. But maybe not.
Don't you cast the spell from the item?
Technically no. You don't cast the spell from the item. You produce the spell's effect from it.Don't you cast the spell from the item?
Not the Spell-Storing Item, as it doesn't involve you casting anything. It simply produces the effect of the chosen spell, similar to how some potions produce the effect of a spell, but don't involve casting it.Don't you cast the spell from the item?
No, you don't cast the spell from the Spell-Storing Item. If you did, it would say so.Yes but you cant infuse the higher level slots RAW.
RAI I think you probably shoukd be able to. Seems like something the designers may have overlooked. But maybe not.
No, you don't cast the spell from the Spell-Storing Item. If you did, it would say so.
Instead, it just lets you produce the effect, similar to spell-based potions.
So, any rule interpretation that does not "break the game" by making a class "far more powerful than any other class" is okay?If you allow this, does it break the game (e.g. by making artificers far more powerful than any other class)?
So, any rule interpretation that does not "break the game" by making a class "far more powerful than any other class" is okay?
Sorry, I disagree that's the proper bar to evaluate house rules with.
I'm confused by the interpretations here.
"Whenever you finish a Long Rest, you can touch one Simple or Martial weapon or one item that you can use as a Spellcasting Focus, and you store a spell in it, choosing a level 1, 2, or 3 Artificer spell that has a casting time of an action and doesn't require a Material component that is consumed by the spell (you needn't have the spell prepared)."
When a sorcerer learns a spell, they learn the spell of a level they know. They don't learn a particular slot level of the spell. You don't learn "Chromatic Orb in a 3rd level slot". Because that's not how it works.
"Pick a spell of these levels". Could be spells known, could be Spell Storing Item. Neither has any slot or upcast information attached to it.
Upcasting explicitly requires a slot. The wording would need to be along the lines of "Pick an artificer spell you can cast with a level 1, 2, or 3 slot."An upcast spell is level 3. At first glance an upcast spell can be put in it.