I'm curious how to judge a circumstance such as the following.
For simplicity's sake, I'm just going to pick a fairly typical example of characters, without addressing special feats or prestige-class features.
Let's say Robin is an archer and is threatened by Brutus, a swordsman. By the rules as I understand them, if Robin fires his bow, Brutus is granted an attack of opportunity (again, we'er not looking into special circumstances like whether Brutus has already taken an AoO this round, or whether he has Combat Reflexes, etc., etc.).
What if Brutus thinks Robin is going to fire his bow, and so reacts to take the attack of opportunity, but Robin doesn't really fire his bow?
My first DM reaction is to say "The rules specify the conditions for the AoO, and the conditions are that the archer fire his bow." Of course, oddly, the AoO goes first and so if the AoO kills the archer, then, those conditions aren't met. So, the spirit of the rule seems to be that the conditions for the AoO are other than actually firing the bow.
Now this leads me to a question about whether Robin could use Bluff to try to provoke Brutus into taking (trying to take?) an AoO. If Robin succeeds, then, since he knows what's going on, shouldn't the AoO be wasted? I mean, the idea is that the AoO exists because the action taken by Robin leaves him open to attack--but this isn't actually happening.
So, some questions.
1) Could this be a legitimate use of the Bluff skill? It would be an opposed Sense Motive roll perhaps, maybe even modified by the person's BAB (better combatants will have seen this kind of nonsense before). If the bluffer succeeds, then the attacker uses up his AoO without actually getting to take it. If so, is this a standard action for the bluffer? Making it a move action grants the bluffer the chance to then react (and, for example, maybe shoot the opponent with aforementioned bow).
2) If Robin fails in his attempt to Bluff Brutus, then Brutus gets the AoO. In this instance, if Robin's bluffing was a standard action, all he can do is move. If Robin's bluffing was a move action, he can still attack, but only after the AoO.
3) Has this issue already been exhaustively debated on these boards, and if so, does someone recall the thread?
Dave
For simplicity's sake, I'm just going to pick a fairly typical example of characters, without addressing special feats or prestige-class features.
Let's say Robin is an archer and is threatened by Brutus, a swordsman. By the rules as I understand them, if Robin fires his bow, Brutus is granted an attack of opportunity (again, we'er not looking into special circumstances like whether Brutus has already taken an AoO this round, or whether he has Combat Reflexes, etc., etc.).
What if Brutus thinks Robin is going to fire his bow, and so reacts to take the attack of opportunity, but Robin doesn't really fire his bow?
My first DM reaction is to say "The rules specify the conditions for the AoO, and the conditions are that the archer fire his bow." Of course, oddly, the AoO goes first and so if the AoO kills the archer, then, those conditions aren't met. So, the spirit of the rule seems to be that the conditions for the AoO are other than actually firing the bow.
Now this leads me to a question about whether Robin could use Bluff to try to provoke Brutus into taking (trying to take?) an AoO. If Robin succeeds, then, since he knows what's going on, shouldn't the AoO be wasted? I mean, the idea is that the AoO exists because the action taken by Robin leaves him open to attack--but this isn't actually happening.
So, some questions.
1) Could this be a legitimate use of the Bluff skill? It would be an opposed Sense Motive roll perhaps, maybe even modified by the person's BAB (better combatants will have seen this kind of nonsense before). If the bluffer succeeds, then the attacker uses up his AoO without actually getting to take it. If so, is this a standard action for the bluffer? Making it a move action grants the bluffer the chance to then react (and, for example, maybe shoot the opponent with aforementioned bow).
2) If Robin fails in his attempt to Bluff Brutus, then Brutus gets the AoO. In this instance, if Robin's bluffing was a standard action, all he can do is move. If Robin's bluffing was a move action, he can still attack, but only after the AoO.
3) Has this issue already been exhaustively debated on these boards, and if so, does someone recall the thread?
Dave