Attack types with different ranges in full attack

PHB139 under Full-Round Action

"The only movement you can take during a full-round action is a 5-foot step before, during, or after the action."

More clearly on PHB143 under Full Attack

"The only movement you can take during a full attack is a 5-foot step. You may take the step before, after, or between your attacks."
 

log in or register to remove this ad

anon said:
PHB139 under Full-Round Action

"The only movement you can take during a full-round action is a 5-foot step before, during, or after the action."

More clearly on PHB143 under Full Attack

"The only movement you can take during a full attack is a 5-foot step. You may take the step before, after, or between your attacks."

Thanks

Majere
 

Hypersmurf said:
Then again, of course, there's always that unusual line in the description of Full Attack: "If you get multiple attacks because your base attack bonus is high enough, you must make the attacks in order from highest bonus to lowest."

Has anyone ever determined exactly what it means?
My statement was worded badly, I'll rephrase. You're right that you cannot reorder the attacks from a single weapon. But the next sentence after the one you quoted is: "If you are using two weapons, you can strike with either weapon first."

So if you want, you can choose to attack first with the secondary weapon, even though it has a lower total attack bonus.

The rule does not specifically state that you must take all attacks with one weapon before switching, nor does it prevent you from switching back (like in my glaive/bite/glaive example). A DM might rule that restriction is implied, but it's not clearly stated in the RAW.
 

AuraSeer said:
So if you want, you can choose to attack first with the secondary weapon, even though it has a lower total attack bonus.

The rule does not specifically state that you must take all attacks with one weapon before switching, nor does it prevent you from switching back (like in my glaive/bite/glaive example).

Right.

Now, let's say I have GTWF and a BAB of +16.

I get four attacks with my longsword "because my base attack bonus is high enough" at +14/+9/+4/-1 (including the -2 penalty for two-weapon fighting).

I get one attack with my light mace for wielding a second weapon in my off hand at +14, and two more attacks with my light mace because I have ITWF and GTWF at +9 and +4 respectively.

Is there anything stopping me from taking my +4 mace attack, followed by my +9 mace attack, followed by my +14 mace attack, followed by my four longsword attacks in BAB order?

After all, the mace attacks are not multiple attacks "because my base attack bonus is high enough", but rather "because I have certain feats"... so it could be read that they are not forced into any particular order, right?

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Right.
...
Is there anything stopping me from taking my +4 mace attack, followed by my +9 mace attack, followed by my +14 mace attack, followed by my four longsword attacks in BAB order?

After all, the mace attacks are not multiple attacks "because my base attack bonus is high enough", but rather "because I have certain feats"... so it could be read that they are not forced into any particular order, right?

-Hyp.

One could also argue the following: since the ITWF and GTWF feats have base attack requirements, you are getting the +9 and +4 mace attacks "because [your] base attack bonus is high enough". Otherwise, you could not have selected the feats, or gotten the attacks. Therefore, you must take them in descending order.

Or maybe I am just being cheeky.
 

When you have TWF, doesn't that basically eliminate the true "off-hand?" You could have a longsword in your right hand, and a short sword in the other, and declare that your shortsword is your primary weapon, getting your full str bonus and your primary attacks?
 

Ottergame said:
When you have TWF, doesn't that basically eliminate the true "off-hand?" You could have a longsword in your right hand, and a short sword in the other, and declare that your shortsword is your primary weapon, getting your full str bonus and your primary attacks?

Sure... but then you only get half Str bonus and off-hand attacks with your longsword, and since your off-hand weapon isn't Light, your penalties go up.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Sure... but then you only get half Str bonus and off-hand attacks with your longsword, and since your off-hand weapon isn't Light, your penalties go up.

-Hyp.

Does the PHB define a primary hand in the book, saying that you have to decide at character creation which hand is always primary? I have always been under the impression you choose whenever you wish which hand is primary and which is secondary (off-hand).
 

Ottergame said:
Does the PHB define a primary hand in the book?

Check the PHB Glossary under "off hand".

It says something like "A character's weaker or less dextrous hand (usually the left). Attacks made with the off hand suffer a -4 penalty to attack rolls, and only add half Str bonus to damage".

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top