My PC just looted a net from a random corpse. Looking over the rules for it, I can't decide whether the weapon is really cool or totally useless.
Say you've been hit with a net and entangled. The attacker still holds the trailing rope. You have a dagger in hand, and want to cut the net to escape. Does this count as attacking a held object?
If it's unattended, its AC is 3 (10 -5 (Dex) -2 (inanimate)), and you have the option of spending a full round to get one automatic hit. But if it counts as a held object, its AC is 10 + the wielder's Dexterity modifier, you can't aim to autohit, and you draw an AoO from the net's wielder. Which is correct?
Say you've been hit with a net and entangled. The attacker still holds the trailing rope. You have a dagger in hand, and want to cut the net to escape. Does this count as attacking a held object?
If it's unattended, its AC is 3 (10 -5 (Dex) -2 (inanimate)), and you have the option of spending a full round to get one automatic hit. But if it counts as a held object, its AC is 10 + the wielder's Dexterity modifier, you can't aim to autohit, and you draw an AoO from the net's wielder. Which is correct?