Attacking a square

0-hr

Starship Cartographer
In our last session, a PC used his Necklace of Fireballs and the DM wanted him to roll to hit the square that the was targetting with the bead thingy.

Now, aside from the fact that I don't think any roll is required to use this item, where is the AC of a square spelled out?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The DM is always right of course...

But I'm sure the necklass is just launching a fireball... so the user simply points out the line of effect, and states a distance... no rolls required.


but, again.. the Dm is always right... no matter what he is smoking.


Mike
 

Ranged touch attack vs. AC 5. This assumes a base AC of 10 less 5 (-5 dex to AC). Roll d20 and don't fumble the damn thing.
 

The same issue arises when using Javelins of Lightning. The spell itself doesn't require an attack roll, but since the item is a javelin at first, most people assume you still need to make an attack roll. By the rules, no attack roll is needed by either item. It's attacking as a spell, not as a weapon.

In my group, however, we rule that using one of those two is halfway between attacking with a spell and attacking with a weapon- meaning the attack will go off, regardless of the enemy's AC, as long as you don't roll a natural 1. (If you do, then let's just say your allies will be looking for your equipment for a while.) If you roll a natural 20, however, the attack becomes a critical hit (dealing double damage).
 

This leads to the question everyone wants answered... What's the range incriment of a fireball?

- Kemrain the Painfully Amused.
 

ten feet. And its not a fireball. Its a jewel that explodes (i.e. grenade).

Kemrain said:
This leads to the question everyone wants answered... What's the range incriment of a fireball?

- Kemrain the Painfully Amused.
 

It is completely legitimate to require an attack roll if you are launching a Fireball through an arrow slit or some stunt like that. Use AC 5 (as cacluated above) plus whatever cover the arrow slit gives.
 

Ridley's Cohort said:
It is completely legitimate to require an attack roll if you are launching a Fireball through an arrow slit or some stunt like that. Use AC 5 (as cacluated above) plus whatever cover the arrow slit gives.
I use a house rule that requires touch attacks for aiming an area of attack spell (and include range modifiers). When attacking a 5' X 5' area, I use AC 4 instead of AC 5 because attacking an entire 5' X 5' area is similar to attacking a large monster instead of attacking a medium monster, even though the 5' X 5' square only occupies one square.
 

The ranged touch attack against AC 5 from the splash weapon section (mentioned above) seems reasonable. Even a miss would land nearby, though. I don’t think the 10’ range is right, as the standard item description says:
“The spheres are detachable by the wearer (and only by the wearer), who can easily hurl one of them up to 70 feet. When a sphere arrives at the end of its trajectory, it detonates as a fireball spell (Reflex DC 14 half ).”
 

Keith said:
The ranged touch attack against AC 5 from the splash weapon section (mentioned above) seems reasonable. Even a miss would land nearby, though. I don’t think the 10’ range is right, as the standard item description says:
“The spheres are detachable by the wearer (and only by the wearer), who can easily hurl one of them up to 70 feet. When a sphere arrives at the end of its trajectory, it detonates as a fireball spell (Reflex DC 14 half ).”
Well then I think it's obvious you should treat it as a regular fireball with a 70 feet range. It doesn't stipulate that it requires an attack roll, hence you go to the emulated spell's description (which doesn't require an attack roll).


Q.E.D.
 

Remove ads

Top