D&D 5E Attacks of Opportunity

Gwaihir

Explorer
So Ive read through the rules but havent yet had a chance to play. (We're finishing up a 3.5 campaign) As I read the rules, its now OK to cast spells while within melee reach of an opponent without generating an attack of opportunity. Is this correct?

Thanks
G
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The only thing that triggers an attack of opportunity is leaving a creature's reach without taking the disengage action. Ranged attacks, including spells, which require a hit roll are at disadvantage when there is an adjacent enemy.
 

More pertinent answer:

No, for the majority of spells there are no drawbacks or penalties in casting them adjacent to foes.


(ExploderWizard isn't wrong. I just think it's unnecessarily difficult to extract a simple yes or no from it :-)
 


Remove ads

Top