RobNJ said:
No
It says in every Spells section, the word any. Can prepare any (complex, simple, whatever) spell. How much more clear can it be.
Leaps and bounds, I would say.
How about this...
Page 164, column two, paragraph three:
"Casters learn the spells they have access to by reading books, studying scrolls, and from studying under others. This study is assumed to have happended to have occurred before the campaign, or during campaign down time."
What if I have no downtime? What if a character gains access to a spell level while slogging through a dungeon, having spent no real time studying, or anything resembling downtime except for sleeping and short resting? Does he have access to all those new spells for his level? The rules tells use they learn spells, not gain them automatically, like clerics. So what happens when you don't get a chance to learn them?
Should it say, "He can prepare any simple spell. No, really. Honest. Any one. I mean it. I promise. Any simple spell."?
As amusing as that would be, I will settle for knowing if he means any spell in the game, any spell on the list or any spell they know, since there does seem to be a distinction.
I think that Malhavoc shot itself in the foot (or at least dropped a heavy rock on its foot) by trying so much to argue that it's perfectly compatable with 3E. That said, it's not overly generous in context with everything else. If everyone is getting that ability, it doesn't matter if you do too.
I would certainly not argue that it is overly generous within its own context. I might be, but I haven't read enough to tell.
I'll be sure to lobby hard for them to include this sort of clarity in the next edition of the book. Because what they have in there, man, it's way too vague.
Not really interested in a discussion, are you?