Yes, a trigger needs the precondition met a priori. So you not only CAN, but MUST roll the the dice before actually using the Backstab. The rule itself appears to say nothing about the moment you must form in your mind the intent to use it, or even the declaration you will use it, to the DM.
/at least in how it's written above. The english language and basic logic are not the property of a gaming company, or mutable to their whims. Let's resist double-talk or double-think in rules. The clearer they are, the less arguments there should be.
A lot of the errata reduce complex multi-sentence clauses to a single, terse and immediately clear phrase. They should have hired people with these types of language skills from the very beginning, at least as an editor. So many threads could have been avoided.