Baleful polymorph

Trellian

Explorer
OK, I did the big mistake the other day to Baleful Polymorph the group's rogue (also the group's rules lawyer) into a cat. Well, the cat-rogue wanted to attack the BBEG-wizard anyway. I tried to reason with him, saying that since he missed his secondary will save, he now had the alignment and intelligence (etc) as a cat. He said that it didn't state that you adopted a cat's mindset, and that he should be allowed to attack, using two claws and a bite. I gave in, and to everyone's surprise, he rolled 20, 19, 20! He even confirmed one of the crits. He then said he wanted to inflict his 6d6 sneak attack damage on the wizard (he was flanked). We then spent a quarter of an hour discussing that, bu he finally relented, especially since his critical hit-card (we're using Paizo's deck) was bleed + con damage.

The wizard had concealment, so the discussion could have ended if I had remembered that rule, but anyway.. it expressely states that a polymorphed creature retains its class features (that's not extraordinary). SO.. by the rules, he could have sneak attacked. BUT.. even though I 99% of the time follow the rules, I refuse to have a cat inflict up to 30+ hp of damage...

So, can anyone explain exactly how a baleful polymorph spell works? Does the polymorphee retain his memories and allegiances if he fails the save? Is it against the rules to disallow the sneak attack?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It must be a monty python cat, kind of like the infamous rabbit. :p

On a more serious note, I don't think it's impossible for a cat to inflict that kind of damage, if it was lucky (and trained to target vulnerable parts of the body, i.e. sneak attack). A cat's teeth are long and sharp enough to puncture the jugular vein, in theory. :]
 

Yes, in order to settle the rules discussion, I allowed the crit. I ruled that the cat jumped up and managed to puncture the jugular in the wizard's thigh.

While we're at it, can the Baleful Polymorph be dispelled with a normal Dispel Magic?
 

Actually, the cat wouldn't have retained the sneak attack ability.

"The target loses all the special abilities it has in its normal form, including its class features."

Trellian said:
While we're at it, can the Baleful Polymorph be dispelled with a normal Dispel Magic?

Yes. The only spells that can't be dispelled with dispel magic are those with an instantaneous duration or that specifically state that they can't be dispelled.
 
Last edited:




Trellian said:
Yes, in order to settle the rules discussion, I allowed the crit. I ruled that the cat jumped up and managed to puncture the jugular in the wizard's thigh.
This wizard keeps his throat in a strange place! :p :D


glass.

(emphasis mine)
 

Trellian said:
OK, I did the big mistake the other day to Baleful Polymorph the group's rogue (also the group's rules lawyer) into a cat. Well, the cat-rogue wanted to attack the BBEG-wizard anyway. I tried to reason with him, saying that since he missed his secondary will save, he now had the alignment and intelligence (etc) as a cat. He said that it didn't state that you adopted a cat's mindset, and that he should be allowed to attack, using two claws and a bite.

I think that is ridiculous - if he failed the secondary will save he is a cat in mind as well as body. He's out of the fight, finito.
 

Trellian said:
Yes, in order to settle the rules discussion, I allowed the crit. I ruled that the cat jumped up and managed to puncture the jugular in the wizard's thigh.

So he's like that monster Captain Kirk fought in the Undiscovered Country while in prison?

Not all creatures keep it in the same place.
 

Remove ads

Top