D&D 5E Barbarian/Druid wildshape synergy question

Sacrosanct

Legend
I have a pretty good idea, but I don't want to leap to assumptions because I could be wrong.

For a moon druid when wildshaped, it says class abilities carry over, but you cannot cast spells or concentrate (when raging). So does that mean if you had a barbarian/druid, you could

*spend bonus action to wild shape into a brown bear with an AC of 13 (compared to the bear's natural AC 11) due to the unarmored defense feature of the barbarian
* next turn spend a bonus action to rage while in bear form



My gut reaction is yes, not only RAW, but because it would support the theme of a raging barbarian in bear form as well.

Am I mistaken?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

I would rule the same way as you w/rt Unarmored Defense--yes, it carries over. Working as intended.

However, I disagree with your ruling on concentration. Wildshape doesn't prevent concentration. In fact, it says explicitly:

http://5esrd.com/classes/druid/ said:
Transforming doesn’t break your concentration on a spell you’ve already cast, however, or prevent you from taking actions that are part of a spell, such as call lightning, that you’ve already cast.
 


I would rule the same way as you w/rt Unarmored Defense--yes, it carries over. Working as intended.

However, I disagree with your ruling on concentration. Wildshape doesn't prevent concentration. In fact, it says explicitly:


Oh, you're right. I was thinking of how raging (part of the equation) doesn't allow concentration. Same end effect, but wrong power :)
 

Remove ads

Top