Can all wizards use all impliments?

Mistwell

Crusty Old Meatwad
Can a wizard use an implement for which he does not have implement mastery?

For example, can a wizard with Orb of Imposition use a magic staff or wand?

I assume the answer is yes, but I wanted to check and make sure.

And, while at it, can that same wizard use a magic rod?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


All wizards can use staves, wands, and orbs. They can't use rods.

What prevents a wizard from using a rod? Is there a rule about it?

Edit - Ah, I see the rule now. "If you are a member of a class that can use a rod as an implement, you can apply its enhancement bonus to the attack and damage rolls of any of your powers from that class that have the implement keyword, and you can use a rod’s properties and powers. Members of other classes gain no benefit from wielding a rod." PHB. 239
 
Last edited:


What prevents a wizard from using a rod? Is there a rule about it?

The fact that the wizard class's "implement" class feature specifically says wizards can use staffs, orbs, and wands. Note that rods aren't on that list. :)

Note also that your class only grants you the ability to use your implements with class powers (and paragon path powers for your class). So if your wizard multiclasses into warlock, he can only use a magic staff or a magic orb with his wizard powers, and can only use a magic rod with his warlock powers. He could use a magic want with powers from either class, though, because the warlock multiclass feat allows you to use rods and wands with warlock implement powers, and the wizard class lets you use wands, staffs, and orbs with wizard implement powers.

As a final note, remember that the half-elf's Dilettante ability doesn't allow you to use an implement, so if you choose a power with the implement keyword you'll probably want to pick up the appropriate multiclassing feat or your attack bonus with the attack will start to lag.
 

The fact that the wizard class's "implement" class feature specifically says wizards can use staffs, orbs, and wands. Note that rods aren't on that list. :)

It's a moot point, since I quoted the rule in the edit to my post (it's under rods in the magic item section), but show me an implement class feature for wizards that lets you use all three of wands, staffs, and orb implements. The class feature, from what I can tell, is called Arcane Implement Mastery, and gives you a power with one type of implement. There is no class feature that says "you can use staffs, orbs, and wands" as far as I can tell. It's implied in the "Implements" color text which is not in the class features section, but I do not see an actual class feature with that kind of text.
 
Last edited:

It's a moot point, since I quoted the rule in the edit to my post (it's under rods in the magic item section), but show me an implement class feature for wizards that lets you use all three of wands, staffs, and orb implements. The class feature, from what I can tell, is called Arcane Implement Mastery, and gives you a power with one type of implement. There is no class feature that says "you can use staffs, orbs, and wands" as far as I can tell. It's implied in the "Implements" color text which is not in the class features section, but I do not see an actual class feature with that kind of text.

Technically, correct. But not really: It is a class trait, not a class feature.

CLASS TRAITS
...
Implements: Orbs, staffs, wands



.....


Mistwell: There is no class feature that says "you can use staffs, orbs, and wands" as far as I can tell.


PHB: Wizards make use of orbs, staffs, and wands to help
channel and direct their arcane powers.

(Note, that is "and" not "or".)

(To assume that they can only use one type of (those three) implements is equivalent to assuming that fighters can only use one-handed or two-handed weapons, not both. Or perhaps that they are proficient in only one of Simple melee, military melee and military ranged, rather than all three.)

Carl
 
Last edited:

It's a moot point, since I quoted the rule in the edit to my post (it's under rods in the magic item section), but show me an implement class feature for wizards that lets you use all three of wands, staffs, and orb implements. The class feature, from what I can tell, is called Arcane Implement Mastery, and gives you a power with one type of implement. There is no class feature that says "you can use staffs, orbs, and wands" as far as I can tell. It's implied in the "Implements" color text which is not in the class features section, but I do not see an actual class feature with that kind of text.

You also don't see class features that give them 4 hit points every time they gain a level, proficiency in cloth, daggers, and the quarterstaff, +2 to their Will, or say they get the Arcane skill and three others from a fairly explicit list.

However, you'll note, those are -very much- rules that determine the class traits.

Of course, reading the section entitled 'Implements' says, explicitly:

"A wizard wielding a magic orb, staff, or wand can add its enhancement bonus to the attack rolls and damage rolls of wizard powers, as well as wizard paragon path powers, that have the Implement keyword."

There's your rule.

It's reiterated under 'Arcane Implement' under Adventuring Gear on page 221.

"Wizards use Orbs, staffs, or wands as focus items for their spells, while warlocks use rods or wands. Using a nonmagical implement confers no benefit. You can purchase a magic implement to gain an enhancement bonus to attack rolls and damage rolls with your arcane powers."

So, here's the way to look at it, specific breaking generic fashion.

Generic: Implements do nothing for you.
Specific: If your class explicitly permits it, you can use an implement's enhancement bonus for your attack and damage rolls on powers of -that- class, and only if they have the Implement keyword.

Lastly, so you never need to worry about it, this is the complete list of implements, and the classes that use them. In order to use an implement, the power must have the Implement Keyword, and you must be of that power's class, or receive permission from that class's multiclass feat.

Holy Symbols (including weapons that have the property of being a holy symbol): Cleric, Paladin
Wands: Artificer, Warlock, Wizard
Staves: Wizard, Artificer
Rods: Warlock, Artificer
Orbs: Wizard, Artificer
Pact weapons: Warlock
Light Blades: Swordmage
Heavy Blades: Swordmage

There is no current Implement in the rules for Spellscarred implement powers, as far as I am aware.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top