Trainz
Explorer
I don't. It doesn't make sense.Hypersmurf said:Now explain dropping the orc ten feet to the north with your longspear, and using your Cleave attack to hit the orc ten feet to the south...
That's what I'm saying. That's my point exactly.
Just because something is technically possible by the rules, doesn't mean that you should throw common sense out the window and let it happen. I don't like to allow cleave with a piercing weapon, but I'm not SUCH a ball-buster DM, I let it go. Unless it is to run-through two critters that are lined-up, that would make more sense, but in that case the rules for reach don't help either.
cleave[size=-1]1[/size] (kl

v. To split with or as if with a sharp instrument.
But hey, it's D&D, so... don't think about it too much. Just go by the feel and common sense.