Can you use ranged attack on an adjacent target?


log in or register to remove this ad



Not only can you make a ranged attack while adjacent to a target, you can do so with combat advantage if you have a flank.
Huh. I hadn't realized that. "Must be able to attack", (Flanking, p. 285). I guess I had misread that as only someone who "threatens" with melee or close attacks as producing a flank, but I guess that's a personal holdover from 3E. Learn new things every day ...
 

Huh. I hadn't realized that. "Must be able to attack", (Flanking, p. 285). I guess I had misread that as only someone who "threatens" with melee or close attacks as producing a flank, but I guess that's a personal holdover from 3E. Learn new things every day ...

Ranger or Warlocks can walk up to a target marked by the defender, flank, shoot him, and get a +3 to hit with the attack. Prime shot works if you're adjacent too. It's actually a pretty good tactic.
 


Huh. I hadn't realized that. "Must be able to attack", (Flanking, p. 285). I guess I had misread that as only someone who "threatens" with melee or close attacks as producing a flank, but I guess that's a personal holdover from 3E. Learn new things every day ...

What you have to bear in mind is that, unlike in 3.xe, even your unarmed strikes (which could be a kick or headbutt) may be used for opportunity attacks, so unless you're subject to a condition (such as Dazed or Stunned) that prevents you from making OAs, you always 'threaten', even when not wielding a melee weapon.
 


If the burst is an Area of Effect attack, doesn't it provoke regardless of whether it is close or not?
I'm new to 4E, and have only played a handful of sessions with the 'lite rules' from KotS, so I could have this wrong. IIRC, the PHB lists 'area' attacks as a separate entry to 'close' attacks. And is 'close' further subdivided into blast/burst/wall?

If I have it right, then 'close blast' does not provoke an opportunity attack.

If it does provoke, then my Rogue 2 with the Blinding Barrage daily power (close blast 3) is in trouble when he goes to use it....
 
Last edited:

A close attack is not an "area attack," even if it takes up an area, such as a blast.
Attacks are either area, close, melee, or ranged.
Area and ranged provoke, melee and close do not.
 

Remove ads

Top