Caster level for Cape of the Montebank

0-hr

Starship Cartographer
It looks like this item has a caster level of 7 (for Dimension Door). Why would it require a 9th level caster to create? Is there a rule somewhere for determining that sort of thing, or did the author just make up a number? :confused:

Also, it seems the wearer can take other people along for the ride (two other, to be exact). Is that correct?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Ki Ryn said:
It looks like this item has a caster level of 7 (for Dimension Door). Why would it require a 9th level caster to create? Is there a rule somewhere for determining that sort of thing, or did the author just make up a number? :confused:

Also, it seems the wearer can take other people along for the ride (two other, to be exact). Is that correct?
Good question... for an extra 80 ft.? ;)

Mike
 

mikebr99 said:
Good question... for an extra 80 ft.? ;)

Mike
Well, 9th level would also allow an extra person to come along for the ride, so it's could be a Big Deal (tm).

Reverse engineering the market value shows that it works as a 7th level caster (which would also be the default for Dimension Door). But the "CL 9" at the end confuses things. Just a typo maybe?
 

it doesnt require being caster level nine, that is just what the most likely one you are to find is.

You can make one so long as you have access to the spell somehow.
 

Scion said:
it doesnt require being caster level nine, that is just what the most likely one you are to find is.

You can make one so long as you have access to the spell somehow.

Not anymore
3.5 SRD said:
Caster Level: The next item in a notational entry gives the caster level of the item, indicating its relative power. The caster level determines the item’s saving throw bonus, as well as range or other level-dependent aspects of the powers of the item (if variable). It also determines the level that must be contended with should the item come under the effect of a dispel magic spell or similar situation. This information is given in the form “CL x,” where “CL” is an abbreviation for caster level and “x” is an ordinal number representing the caster level itself.
For potions, scrolls, and wands, the creator can set the caster level of an item at any number high enough to cast the stored spell and not higher than her own caster level. For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the item itself. In this case, the creator’s caster level must be as high as the item’s caster level (and prerequisites may effectively put a higher minimum on the creator’s level).

So the cape casts the spell as a 9th level caster and requires a 9th level caster to create it. Why it is priced as though made by a CL 7 I don't know. The DMG says that the item creation rules are only guidlines and that the price of an item may be adjusted up or down depending on its usefulness but I find it hard to fathom why they might think an item of dimension door needs to be priced down. Maybe they felt the cape slot is espically valuable if you use if for something besides a Cloak of Resistance? :confused:

At any rate, since I am not aware of any errata on this one your answer is CL 9.
 

check the errata for the dmg, it changes those lines that you highlighted to mean something along the opposite ;)

CL isnt a requirement.
 

argo said:
Not anymore

(biting tongue) Again, note that the 3.5 text is exactly the same as the 3.0 text. No change was made in the DMG whatsoever. The "caster level" debate was entirely caused by off-book writers directly contradicting what was in the 3.0 and then 3.5 DMG. (There's 3.5 errata now, but even that is a bit wacky.)

Remember, as of the current rules, core wondrous items are not just spell receptacles. They are unique items which the designers have tried to balance price, prerequisites, and caster level in a way that fairly represents their power level. They are not necessarily the result of any formulas.

Just going by the DMG text (prior to 3.5 errata), wondrous magic items were designed with fixed caster levels, and they were generally set to represent their power level. The designers simply decided that this cape wasn't a 7th-level item, it was more powerful, more like a 9th-level item. You could ask the same question about a whole host of items like this.

www.superdan.net/dndfaq2.html
 
Last edited:

Scion said:
check the errata for the dmg, it changes those lines that you highlighted to mean something along the opposite ;)

CL isnt a requirement.

Checking...

Oh for the love of... :mad:

Ok fine, but they didn't change the first sentance of the refrenced section which means that, to answer the origional poster, if his cape is one of the "example" capes from the DMG it has a CL of 9 for only 10,080 GP.

And nobody knows why.
 

Because they said so? ;)

Really, that is probably the reason. Prices are more or less just guesses on overall power, levels assigned seem mostly to go with the spells used but otherwise are fairly random, along with the rules about CL being fairly unclear (as was shown in this thread already).

My guess? it was mainly to give it some extra weight and distance and slightly harder to dispel. The extra two levels are what makes the smoke. Someone doesnt like the number 7.

Take your pick. What is your favorite flavor? ;)
 

The funny thing is, the DMG lists the Cape of the Montebank as their example for that type of item! It's just really weird that someone clearly did use the formula (4th level x 7th level caster x 1800 / 5 = 10080 gp), but they used it for a 7th level caster. Then a paragraph later they say the cloak works at 9th level? :confused:

My guess is that the "9th" is just a typo. Seems the most likely scenario.
 

Remove ads

Top