Censure of Pursuit - when does it trigger?

I play with multiple dm's in home campaigns and LFR at a hobby shop. None do the moving away. The fighters don't help due to slow movement and they stop at the first opponent they see rather than move on. I have tried the overwhelming strike ideas but without help that won't get the dm to bite. Heck I have done 70+ damage with two hits in a row and not had the enemy move away. I guess I am controlling my target by not having it attack someone else but I find it too much. Another problem I run into is dm interpretation of moving away. They like to say that a shift where the opponent stays one square away but goes sideways does not count as away.

x= open space, o= opponent, and m= me

xox
xmx

oxx
xmx is not considered moving away because it is only one square. I disagree repeatedly but to no avail.
Sadly your DM is right. It's not moving away unless its distance is increasing from you.

Back on topic, I'm still not seeing "bonuses from the same source do not stack" anywhere, which is problematic. RAI, I'm sure Censure of Pursuit is not supposed to stack with itself, but RAW it will if bonuses from the same source stack.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Censure doesn't stack with itself, because its a conditional 'if' statement. If X is true, Y is true.

In this case, if it has moved away from you willingly, well, that can't exactly be double true. It is either true, or false, so as a boolean value, it can't apply more than once.

Contrast this with Arcane Spellfury, or Censure of Retribution, which are triggered. When you ______, Do Y. Arcane Spellfury, not -as- sure about, but then Censure flat out says it stacks, so that covers that, I suppose.
 

Censure doesn't stack with itself, because its a conditional 'if' statement. If X is true, Y is true.

In this case, if it has moved away from you willingly, well, that can't exactly be double true. It is either true, or false, so as a boolean value, it can't apply more than once.
I agree, but... typically, a conditional is used to "conditionalize" something that can only happen a limited number of times within a time frame. E.g., "if the secondary attack hits, it deals an extra 2d6 damage." Censure of Pursuit is an if-then that has no such restrictions. If your oath moves away, period, you do X more damage. So it's a bit harder to distinguish "if" from "when" in this case.

Contrast this with Arcane Spellfury, or Censure of Retribution, which are triggered. When you ______, Do Y. Arcane Spellfury, not -as- sure about, but then Censure flat out says it stacks, so that covers that, I suppose.
On an unrelated note... DOES Arcane Spellfury stack?
 



I agree, but... typically, a conditional is used to "conditionalize" something that can only happen a limited number of times within a time frame. E.g., "if the secondary attack hits, it deals an extra 2d6 damage." Censure of Pursuit is an if-then that has no such restrictions. If your oath moves away, period, you do X more damage. So it's a bit harder to distinguish "if" from "when" in this case.

Well, let's put it this way. If it meant anything other than a conditional, if the target has a speed of 6 and moves 6 squares away from you, it'd be taking 6 X your Dexterity in damage, because -every- square would 'trigger' it.

Good thing it's an 'if'-conditional, right?
 

Well, let's put it this way. If it meant anything other than a conditional, if the target has a speed of 6 and moves 6 squares away from you, it'd be taking 6 X your Dexterity in damage, because -every- square would 'trigger' it.

Good thing it's an 'if'-conditional, right?
"If it weren't this way it'd be broken" isn't necessarily an absolute. It could just mean that RAW it is broken and needs errata, but nobody really cares because the RAI is so obvious that it's a stretch to interpret it any other way.

That's probably not the case here. But, for example, things that trigger off of pushing, pulling, or sliding someone don't trigger for each square pushed/pulled/slided--they trigger for the action. If Censure of Pursuit were the same way and triggered/stacked twice for a double move, or for having two Oaths of Enmity (relentless slayer, mighty enmity) both moving away, then it would be neither especially broken nor against the RAW.

But you seem pretty sure about the if-then wording, so until I find a particularly convincing counterexample I'll be content with that.
 

Cause things that trigger off of movement do it on a per square basis.

Re: OAs, which need a special 'Once per turn' clause or else they'd do it too.
 

Remove ads

Top