Cleave at the end of a charge....

Stunning Attack: The monk can use this ability once per round, but no more than once per level per day. The monk must declare she is using a stun attack before making the attack roll (thus, a missed attack roll ruins the attempt).

Going by the letter, any time an attack roll is made, he could stun, he just has to announce it beforehand
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

WWA is not an attack action.

Its a special action that you can with a feat that requires a full attack action.

You can charge and trip, disarm, or sunder, but you couldn't charge and WWA.

--Unclear Spikey
 

Great Cleave [General]

Prerequisites: Str 13+, Power Attack, Cleave, base attack bonus +4 or higher.

Benefit: As Cleave, except that the character has no limit to the number of times the character can use it per round.


Wippit Guud said:
Quick hi-jack... you can't great cleave at the end of a charge, cause you can't move (even a 5ft step) after a charge)

What does moving 5 feet have to do with great cleave?

--Curious Spikey
 





My interpretation of "at the same bonus" is that you don't treat it as an iterative attack and subtract 5. I wouldn't allow the Charge modifier to be used on the Cleave attack.

For more extreme examples, I offer you True Strike and Smite Evil.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
My interpretation of "at the same bonus" is that you don't treat it as an iterative attack and subtract 5. I wouldn't allow the Charge modifier to be used on the Cleave attack.

For more extreme examples, I offer you True Strike and Smite Evil.

I don't think this is in keeping with the combat section. An attack roll is an opposed roll of "d20 + Attack modifiers vs. AC of target." Those attack modifiers include:

Attack modifiers consist of the combatant's base attack bonus, size adjustment, strength adjustment, and any other bonuses that apply to the attack roll.

It looks as if it considers size adjustment, strength adjustment, etc. to be bonuses that apply to the attack roll. I'd think all of these would apply to a cleave attack.

However, the way you describe it does make more sense, and I think they ought to errata cleave so that the character uses the same base-attack bonus, not the same bonus, as the original attack.

Daniel
 

It looks as if it considers size adjustment, strength adjustment, etc. to be bonuses that apply to the attack roll. I'd think all of these would apply to a cleave attack.

Yup, but this is where Smite Evil causes a problem.

A first level Paladin with 14 Str and 16 Cha Smites a goblin. The goblin is evil, so the Smite takes effect. Tha Paladin's attack bonus is +1 (BAB) +2 (Str) +3 (Cha bonus from Smite) for a total of +6.

He drops the goblin, and Cleaves into the neutral dire rat... at the same bonus. The fact that the rat is neutral doesn't matter - the Smite checks for evil when it's declared. It found evil, so the bonus occurred, and Cleave uses the same bonus.

In my opinion, any modifiers that apply "for a single attack roll" do not get carried over into the Cleave attack.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top