Cleric gets feat he can't use: Am I reading correctly?

msd

First Post
A 1st level Cleric takes a deity with the war domain. Per p. 31 of the PHB, if a Cleric takes a deity with the war domain, (s)he receives as a bonus feat Weapon Focus for the deity's favored weapon.

The description for Weapon Focus lists as a pre-req a BAB of +1, but the Cleric starts with a BAB of 0.

Sorry if this is a beginner's question, but am I reading this all correctly? Does the cleric get the feat but effectively can't use it as (s)he lacks the pre-req?

Thanks,
Matt
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The domain grants it despite the Cleric's lack of prereqs. There isn't an issue here, the Cleric gains Weapon Focus and the associated bonus

I can see how this could appear confusing though as I'm not sure it is explicitly stated
 


Angcuru said:
They do the same sort of thing by giving TWF or Archery feats to rangers even if they don't have the prereqs.
Yes, and they explicitly say so there.

The War domain neglects to mention this. I agree that it should be read that way, though.
 

Of course your cleric might simply carry the weapon as a symbol until he achieved his BAB +1. This might be an austere act of piety and devotion -- but it might also be really stupid! :p

I agree with the others but I knew at least one DM who would have interpretted it the other way.


S.
 
Last edited:

OK...Thanks for the replies guys. It doesn't really make sense that the class would grant the feat at 1st level and not let you use it.

The majority's reading seems fair...

Thanks again,
Matt
 

Technically, a War domain cleric can't use his Weapon Focus feat until he gets BAB +1, usually at level 2. But any reasonable DM will let him have the +1 anyway.
 

msd said:
The description for Weapon Focus lists as a pre-req a BAB of +1, but the Cleric starts with a BAB of 0.

That is how it reads- yes, you are correct. However as one of my Players pointed out the same thing I looked to the groups other GM and we both shrugged- silently telling each other- "lets ignore that rule for now."

msd said:
Sorry if this is a beginner's question, but am I reading this all correctly? Does the cleric get the feat but effectively can't use it as (s)he lacks the pre-req?

Rules are some times meant to be bent in order to allow for a better gaming experience. Do as your group thinks is right and proper.

Its all about having fun :D
 

Remove ads

Top