Hi there. I'm working on a Brawling Fighter and I was wondering what the ruling was on 'combining' grabs, as it were. The important bits for the two conflicting items are:
Grasping Trident
Property: You can use this weapon to grab targets, adding the weapon’s enhancement bonus to your grab attack. You can still use this weapon to attack a target you’ve grabbed with it.
Grappling Strike
Requirement: You must have a hand free.
Hit: 1 [W] +Strength modifier damage, and you grab the target.
So. The situation is as follows: My brawling fighter is wielding a Grasping Trident in one hand (his off-hand is free).
On my previous turn, I used this ability to grab an enemy. It's currently ensnared in my Grasping Trident, and I think it's safe to assume my off-hand is still free. Now (for whatever reason) I decide to use my at-will power Grappling Strike.
Assuming it hits, does this mean I have the target grabbed with both my Grasping Trident and my off-hand? Could I release the grab my Trident has on the enemy as a free action so I can use it to attack other enemies in my next turn?
Thanks in advance for your help.
Grasping Trident
Property: You can use this weapon to grab targets, adding the weapon’s enhancement bonus to your grab attack. You can still use this weapon to attack a target you’ve grabbed with it.
Grappling Strike
Requirement: You must have a hand free.
Hit: 1 [W] +Strength modifier damage, and you grab the target.
So. The situation is as follows: My brawling fighter is wielding a Grasping Trident in one hand (his off-hand is free).
On my previous turn, I used this ability to grab an enemy. It's currently ensnared in my Grasping Trident, and I think it's safe to assume my off-hand is still free. Now (for whatever reason) I decide to use my at-will power Grappling Strike.
Assuming it hits, does this mean I have the target grabbed with both my Grasping Trident and my off-hand? Could I release the grab my Trident has on the enemy as a free action so I can use it to attack other enemies in my next turn?
Thanks in advance for your help.
