Constrict and improved Grab Question

Belzbet

First Post
Im sure this is a much asked question but, if a creature has improved grab and constrict (lets say they have a tentacle attack) then if they hit with a tentacle they get to try to grapple as a free action with no AoO, if the grapple is successful you establish a hold and can constrict. Then constrict says: with a successful grapple check do X amount of damage. Lets say you succeed on a grapple check against the target hit by your tentacle, and you establish a hold, do you do constrict damage immediately or do you have to make another grapple check? It seems that you get to do the damage immediately but I think its alittle ambiguous and could be interpreted both ways (since it says you CAN constrict, meaning you get the option to constrict, not you DO constrict).
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Check the Rules Compendium. Constrict applies on each and every gapple check you initiate on your turn. It would apply if you grappled for damage or Imp Grabbed someone. It would not apply if your foe attempted to escape your grapple and failed.
 

Remove ads

Top