Dagger of Defiance

Demon Knight

First Post
This question stems from a VERY heated argument in a PvP Arena. The players are literaly fighting with each other over it even after the GM has ruled...

Situation:
Zeebo, a 15th level rogue, bought a Dagger of Defiance. He keeps it in a sheath on his belt and never takes it out, except to clean his finger nails in the bar.

During a fight with Zeebo, Frank, a 15th level enchanter, casts Hold Person on Zeebo. But the player playing Zeebo merely laughes and states that he is unaffected because of the Dagger on his belt.

Here's the problem:
Does a Dagger of Defiance grant its owner the benefit of "immunity to compulsion, etc"?

Zeebo's player believes that since the description for the Dagger of Defiance uses the word "bearing" and not "wielding", he need only possess the dagger on his person to benefit from its magical protection. He defends his position by pointing out the definition of the two words in the dictionary: bear (merely carrying it) and wield (holding it in hand). Apparantly, he thinks that bearing a weapon is not the same as holding it your hand or "wielding" it.

So what is the correct answer?

Does this mean that anyone, even a monk, can just pay 12302gp for a Dagger of Defiance, stuff it in his boot and walk around immune to certain magics?

If anyone could give an OFFICIAL solution to this problem, or give strong evidence one way or the other, it would greatly be appreciated and probably save a few reputations. Enjoy!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It would have to be held and actively being used unless it speciffically stated otherwise. What is the source of the dagger, what book does it come from?
 

Magic of Faerun.

Unlike the weapons which DO specify their anciliary benefits apply to "the wielder", the Dagger of Defiance states "the bearer".

And, same source, two pages later, the Scimitar of the Fool specifies "the creature who carries".

Before you leap to conclusions on what "bearer" means, I do ask you to please look up "bear" (the verb) and "wield". They are not the same; "to bear" means (among othe rthings) "to carry or be equipped with" ...

Demon: no, after the GM made his ruling, I didn't -fight- over it, I simply -objected-, at length and in detail.

I also, yes, called Reginald to task for being sufficiently derogatory as to drive a good player completely away from the campaign. Same post, but different issue.
 





Crothian said:
I'd still say it has to be welded becuase that's the way weapons work.

Really? 8)

Then how do you explain (emphasis mine), form Magic of Faerun page 144:

Scimitar of the Fool: This +1 scimitar gives the creature that carries it a -3 morale penalty on all Will saves. These weapons are popular with tyrants who don't entirely trust their guards.

And the Luckblade (DMG page 188), which Hypersmurf pointed out. 8)
 
Last edited:

THe wording on those are different then the Dagger in question so they are not important. There are a few things oddly written in MaoF, it can be the writters just wanted a different way to say the same old thing. Writers do do that from time to time. I just go with the conservative ruling when things are in the grey.

By any chance you aren't the player in question?
 

No, I'm not the player in question.

I simply strongly dislike seeing an uninvolved party step in and be -so- derogatory towards osmeone pointing out the simple truth (that "bearer" != "wielder"), that the actual player in question has quit the game entirely.

Anyway, Crothian, those two weapons, while not identical in owrding to the Dagger in question ... clearly, they demonstrate your "that's the way weapon work" is not UNIVERSAL in application.

Which raises the possibility that, indeed, "bearer" is to be taken literally. Personally, when it comes to rules ... "when in doubt, read literally".
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top