defending monk*vow of poverty*empower spell*polymorph. Help appreciated

Cephid

First Post
I've got a couple of issues I've been struggling with for a while, so I thought I would throw them out to you guys.

1) How can a unarmed specialist monk get the most out of a 'defending' weapon? can he/she simply hold it in hand while using unarmed strikes?(kicks etc.) If it is a monk weapon, can he/she make a flurry of blows and use the weapon on the last strike only?

2) If I cast a spell with a random variable of 1d6+4 (e.g. ray of enfeeblement or mirror image) and use empower spell, does the endire amount (1d6+4) get multiplied by 1.5? Or just the variable part? (1d6 x 1.5) +4.

3) Does anyone know of an online link to the vows of poverty? I don't have the book of Exaluted deeds, but I'm trying to make a vow of poverty druid.

4) For the purposes of polymorph, how do I know what creatures can use spells/weapons? some already use weapons, so that is obvious, but there are heaps I'm not sure about. E.g. cave troll. All other trolls use weapons AND have claw attacks but not cave trolls. Can I assume this is just due to low Int? What about a monkey/ape etc.?
Would it be safe to say all humanoids, monsterous humanoids and giants can use weapons and spells?

Any help would be really appreciated. This may solve a few long term arguements.
Thanks
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Cephid said:
2) If I cast a spell with a random variable of 1d6+4 (e.g. ray of enfeeblement or mirror image) and use empower spell, does the endire amount (1d6+4) get multiplied by 1.5? Or just the variable part? (1d6 x 1.5) +4.

(1d6+4)*1.5
 

KarinsDad said:
(1d6+4)*1.5
I disagree that is the way it should work, though the example using magic missile make arguing that difficult. When used the way KD describes, Empower becomes stronger on a few spells than maximise.

I run it as this, but i doubt i could win a rules argument on the subject;

[1d6 + non adjusting variable] x 1.5.

[1d6 x 1.5] + level adjusting variable.
 

Cephid said:
1) How can a unarmed specialist monk get the most out of a 'defending' weapon? can he/she simply hold it in hand while using unarmed strikes?(kicks etc.) If it is a monk weapon, can he/she make a flurry of blows and use the weapon on the last strike only?

If you mean take the penalty on one attack only, but get the AC benefit continually, I think most DMs would be leery. Nevertheless it might be possible by the rules; I can see an argument for it. There certainly isn't anything wrong with using a weapon in only one strike of a flurry.

Regarding held/wielded, see Hyp's numerous lectures on the subject; they go into great detail. Essentially, some people make a distinction between holding and wielding and others do not.
 




2) If I cast a spell with a random variable of 1d6+4 (e.g. ray of enfeeblement or mirror image) and use empower spell, does the endire amount (1d6+4) get multiplied by 1.5? Or just the variable part? (1d6 x 1.5) +4.
As frank mentioned, the magic missile example in the PHB backs up the first interpretation.

Notice that the quantity (1d6+4) is just as variable as the quantity (1d6). And the effect of the spell is a (1d6+4) penalty. So the variable, numeric effect of the spell is a (1d6+4) penalty.
 

1) Yes, and that is an excellent idea.

2) As mentioned, the entire amount gets multiplied by 1.5

3) Here and here

4) Best to ask your DM about any matters regarding polymorph

5) People have won arguments on these boards
 

Cephid said:
1) How can a unarmed specialist monk get the most out of a 'defending' weapon? can he/she simply hold it in hand while using unarmed strikes?(kicks etc.) If it is a monk weapon, can he/she make a flurry of blows and use the weapon on the last strike only?

According to the 3.0 FAQ:

Do you have to actively wield a weapon of defending to
use its power? Or could you hold a longsword of defending
in your left hand, not use it to attack (so you are not
actually using the two weapons) and still wield a sword in
your right hand without penalties? Or is the defending
bonus considered part of the normal parrying that happens
in the background?

Using a weapon of defending works just like the Expertise
feat. (You have to use an attack or full attack action.) You can’t
use the weapon like a shield; if you hold the weapon in your off
hand and claim an Armor Class bonus for it, you take all the
penalties for fighting with two weapons, even if you don’t
actually attack with the weapon.

So using FoB as you described would work, but just holding it would not. This is one of the places where I agree with the FAQ. If you want the benefits of using a weapon, you have to take the penalties of using the weapon as well. TANSTAAFL.

This particular question is instrinsically linked the never-ending debate about how some of the finer points of two-weapon fighting are handled. For continued discussion on this particular question, I recommended moving over to the current thread on the subject, here: http://www.enworld.org/showthread.php?t=182079
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top