Discussion of Scotley's upcoming 4e Swashbuckler Game

May I officially move Malkyr's initiative just before the enemies actions?

His class feature allows him to kill an enemy, if it's HP are 10 or less after his attack, so going last would max it's advantage.

Sure, as far as I know you can still hold your action in 4e. Correct me if I'm wrong.

I asked this in the main thread, but it probably more properly belongs here:

Did Malkyr kill the archer he shot at? I need to know before I post my turn, since my action will be very different depending on if said archer is living or dead.

Looks like Malkyr is waiting until after Tabitha, so you can have the Archer.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Sure, as far as I know you can still hold your action in 4e. Correct me if I'm wrong.

You can do two things to change your initiative order.

You can
DELAY, in which your character takes NO actions until after another character acts (you cannot interrupt another character's turn by doing this)

rules compendium said:
After any turn has been completed, the creature can step back into the initiative order and take its turn. The creature's initiative changes to the new position in the initiative order.

Also worth noting:
rules compendium said:
The start of a creature's turn occurs when the creature delays, not when it later takes its turn. Thus, effects triggered by the start of the turn still take place -- they can't be avoided by delaying.

OR

You can
READY a Standard Action. By doing this, you must state a trigger that causes your readied action to happen. This DOES allow you to interrupt another character's turn (for example, you ready an attack to happen when a certain enemy moves adjacent to you). If that trigger does not happen, I believe you either act at the end of the round or miss your action entirely, but that may be up to the DM.

rules compendium said:
Choose the specific action the creature is readying (the attack it plans to use, for example), as well as the intended target, if applicable. The creature can ready a standard action, a move action, or a minor action. Whichever action is chosen, the act of readying it is a standard action.

Choose the circumstance that will trigger the readied action. When the trigger occurs, the creature can use the readied action. If the trigger doesn't occur or the creature chooses to ignore it, the creature can't use the readied action and instead takes its next turn as normal.

Using a readied action is an immediate reaction, so it takes place right after the trigger finishes.

When the creature finishes its readied action, its place in the initiative order moves to directly before the creature or the event that triggered the readied action.

In either case, your initiative count changes to the point where you take your action(s).
 
Last edited:



BTW, please note that my post above may not be "official", but it's what I use in my games and it's based on my understanding of the intent of the rules. I can check my Rules Compendium when I get home and if something I posted is wrong, I will post a correction to the above.
 

Guess I'll have to play my next trick soon...

The big bad with a picture but not on the map, perhaps? ;)

So much for Ali being the big bad defender.... One chance per encounter to be the hero, making the orc attack another orc, and Ali blew it big time.
 

The big bad with a picture but not on the map, perhaps? ;)

So much for Ali being the big bad defender.... One chance per encounter to be the hero, making the orc attack another orc, and Ali blew it big time.

Hee hee, I considered deleting him from the map I posted, but I decided it would be more fun to see if anyone noticed.

Don't worry, there will be plenty more encounters for Ali to flex his powers.
 

BTW, please note that my post above may not be "official", but it's what I use in my games and it's based on my understanding of the intent of the rules. I can check my Rules Compendium when I get home and if something I posted is wrong, I will post a correction to the above.
My understanding of 4E rules is exactly as you stated. You just have a more ready command of your memory than I do. :-S
 

My understanding of 4E rules is exactly as you stated. You just have a more ready command of your memory than I do. :-S

I posted the exact text from the Rules Compendium to my first post about readying and delaying. Turns out I was about 90% correct.

BTW, even if you don't care for Essentials, the Rules Compendium is so darned useful. I recommend it for anyone playing (and especially running) 4th ed.
 


Remove ads

Top