No need to be insultingly repetitive- we all understand that clearly figments are not creatures.
Historically, illusion spells in D&D are able to be targeted by attack spells- at least, those that are designed simply to do damage, and do not depend on a target having mental attributes. All that mattered was whether a caster could perceive the illusion and thus be sufficiently deceived by its apparent physical attributes to burn a spell targeting it.
Within the current rules, however, this is impossible since the statement "figment != creature" is true...a problem that didn't exist since 1) there were no such things as "figments" and 2) the default assumption in earlier ruleset was that illusionary creatures were targetable unless the caster could discern that his intended target was illusion- in which case, targeting the illusion became voluntary. (You could, for instance, still attack a projected image you knew to be such if you needed to.)
Under 3.X RAW, illusory creatures (except possibly shadow creatures) can't be targeted by spells at all.
The 3.X FAQ statement, in the context that there is no specific rule covering this, and fills the gap, restoring the game's historical targeting rule. If you can perceive the illusion, and you believe in the illusion, you can attack it with any attack spell.
Historically, illusion spells in D&D are able to be targeted by attack spells- at least, those that are designed simply to do damage, and do not depend on a target having mental attributes. All that mattered was whether a caster could perceive the illusion and thus be sufficiently deceived by its apparent physical attributes to burn a spell targeting it.
Within the current rules, however, this is impossible since the statement "figment != creature" is true...a problem that didn't exist since 1) there were no such things as "figments" and 2) the default assumption in earlier ruleset was that illusionary creatures were targetable unless the caster could discern that his intended target was illusion- in which case, targeting the illusion became voluntary. (You could, for instance, still attack a projected image you knew to be such if you needed to.)
Under 3.X RAW, illusory creatures (except possibly shadow creatures) can't be targeted by spells at all.
The 3.X FAQ statement, in the context that there is no specific rule covering this, and fills the gap, restoring the game's historical targeting rule. If you can perceive the illusion, and you believe in the illusion, you can attack it with any attack spell.