do you need a free hand to use material compenents?

silentspace

First Post
Or do they just disappear out of your component pouch? It seems like they just disappear - I can't find anywhere that says you need a free hand. Please help.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

silentspace said:
Or do they just disappear out of your component pouch? It seems like they just disappear - I can't find anywhere that says you need a free hand. Please help.

You need a free hand to cast any spell with a somatic component. I don't think there are very many (if any) spells that require material components that don't also require somatic components. (There a few that require focus but not a somatic component. Presumably you just need the focus available to you, but don't actually need to manipulated it.)
 

Caliban said:
You need a free hand to cast any spell with a somatic component. I don't think there are very many (if any) spells that require material components that don't also require somatic components. (There a few that require focus but not a somatic component. Presumably you just need the focus available to you, but don't actually need to manipulated it.)

That's what I thought.

I was looking at the Runesmith's Rune Magic ability (Races of Stone). I was wondering if they can cast spells requiring material components without having a free hand.
 

Well, I'd say no. :)

Retrieve a Spell Component: You can produce a spell component from your pouch while grappling by using a full-round action. Doing so does not require a successful grapple check.

This seems to imply, that you need a hand to get the material component into a "useable" state.

Bye
Thanee
 


silentspace said:
Or do they just disappear out of your component pouch? It seems like they just disappear - I can't find anywhere that says you need a free hand. Please help.

You need to have them in your hand, or at least touching them. I've seen beholders that carry them in their mouths. Usually you just need one hand to both retrieve the item and complete the somatic component.
 

Well, I can only guess that it used to be spelled out somewhere, but disappeared in a revision. As Thanee pointed out though, it can be inferred from the grappling rules.
 

I'd say you need to have them in your hand, but that's just a personal point of view. I couldn't find any rule that said 'you need to have them in your hand'. :uhoh:
 

Generaly we tend to assume you have them in a readily accessable pouch(es) of some kind, and they just sort of disapear from there. Given you don't need a free hand, that doesn't seem too unreasonable.
 

Bront said:
Generaly we tend to assume you have them in a readily accessable pouch(es) of some kind, and they just sort of disapear from there. Given you don't need a free hand, that doesn't seem too unreasonable.

Am I tired, or did someone just say "Given that X is true," and conclude something in a discussion of whether or not X was true?
 

Remove ads

Top