Do you threaten while flat footed?

Aaron said:
If the target of the spells fails his save he's flat footed until his next turn.

So, what happens if I prepare this spell and cast it in the middle of his full attack?

Does he threaten with his iterative following attacks or not, in your opinion?

I'm asking cause I can't see anything in the flat footed description that negates you to threaten.

That's a summary, and since you already have an interpretation of what the spell does, it might be different than someone else's interpretation. Could you post the actual text of the spell?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Michael Silverbane said:
The actual text of the spell is, "A creature affected by this spell is flat-footed until the beginning of its next turn."

Later
silver

Wow, sorry for my not understanding earlier. I figured the text must be longer than that.
 


My own opinion of this (and it's one that's about specific semantics and exact wording, so if I'm wrong I'm sure Hypersmurf will correct me) is that in the original 3.0 rules "flatfooted" was caused by exactly one thing: not having acted yet in combat. But it started to get thrown around a lot as a way to say "denied Dex bonus to AC" and eventually started appearing in rulebooks in other contexts (other than having not acted yet in combat). Which has muddied the waters a bit.

For what it's worth it most likely won't be a bad thing if there's some 'official' revision at some point that defines it as such, since people have been using the term like that since day one.
 

Destil said:
My own opinion of this (and it's one that's about specific semantics and exact wording, so if I'm wrong I'm sure Hypersmurf will correct me) is that in the original 3.0 rules "flatfooted" was caused by exactly one thing: not having acted yet in combat.

In the 3E PHB, at least, balancing denied Dex bonus to AC; it did not render one flat-footed.

I couldn't guarantee there's nothing in the 3E Core rules that uses flat-footed after the beginning of combat; I know there are some in Sword and Fist (the Feign Weakness feat, for example).

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
In the 3E PHB, at least, balancing denied Dex bonus to AC; it did not render one flat-footed.

I couldn't guarantee there's nothing in the 3E Core rules that uses flat-footed after the beginning of combat; I know there are some in Sword and Fist (the Feign Weakness feat, for example).

-Hyp.
Ah, yes. Sword and Fist. Worst. Rules. Ever. From the halfling-outrider +0 BAB to Expert Tactician's original "blind kobold in a backpack" to the crazy wolverine inspired criticals on the bladed gauntlet. And they started the slippery slope with flat-footed, too? Amazing they got all that into such a small book (and great WAR art to boot!).
 

Aaron said:
If the target of the spells fails his save he's flat footed until his next turn.

So, what happens if I prepare this spell and cast it in the middle of his full attack?

Does he threaten with his iterative following attacks or not, in your opinion?

I'm asking cause I can't see anything in the flat footed description that negates you to threaten.


The spell is a swift action casting time and not an immediate action one. Therefore you could not cast it in the middle of some else's full attack action.

Swift actions must occur on your turn in the initiative, unlike immediate actions.
 

irdeggman said:
The spell is a swift action casting time and not an immediate action one. Therefore you could not cast it in the middle of some else's full attack action.

Swift actions must occur on your turn in the initiative, unlike immediate actions.

Use a ready action. With that, you can use even Standard Actions in the middle of a full attack.

And, that spell leads to some pretty strange occurrences. The fighter now loses his Dex bonus to AC even though it is his own turn. He can't take Attacks of Opportunity even though its his own turn. Which makes little sense to me.

I have a House Rule that replaces all instances of "flatfooted" with "denied Dexterity to AC" for all instances besides the beginning of combat.
 
Last edited:

irdeggman said:
The spell is a swift action casting time and not an immediate action one. Therefore you could not cast it in the middle of some else's full attack action.

Swift actions must occur on your turn in the initiative, unlike immediate actions.
My question was lost in translation, sorry.

With "prepare" I meant "ready". (in my language we use "prepare" for "ready")

Besides that, we don't need that spell: just imagine a barbarian fighting on a ice surface, failing his balance check.

He's flat footed, but can still attack with his normal iterative attacks.

Does he threaten?
 

Remove ads

Top