Does burning hands provoke an AoO?


log in or register to remove this ad

Mouseferatu said:
It's not a burst/blast thing. Ranged and Area attacks provoke; Melee and Close attacks do not.

So anything with a description of Close [blah] does not provoke.
Cool. Makes sense, but there were several questions like this that I couldn't quite find the answer to. I just said, "I'm sure the real PHB would tell us, and I'm going with XX ruling."

Thanks, man.
 



Going only by the Quickstart rules in KotS, it said something that summarized opportunity attack provocation as such:

Ranged and area attacks provoke opportunity attacks.
Melee and close attacks don't.

Those are the four main attack types: melee ( :melee: ), ranged ( :ranged: ), area ( :area: ), close ( :close: ). That's what those icons mean.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top