In a message dated 1/14/03 5:21:53 PM, dcollins@superdan.net writes:
Something has just occured to me that seems rather ambiguous in the core
rules. I'm wondering if damage reduction is supposed to serve as protection
from non-magical, non-energy effects that have no attack roll, such as:
falling, landslides, tornados, crushing wall traps, or creature constrict
and swallow whole abilities (DMG ch. 3, MM Introduction).
Should DR help against these kinds of physical effects?
In a word, yes. (That's a departure form previous additions of the game, but
once reason DR replaces the old immunity to non-magical weapons special
defense is so that a long list of exceptions were no longer needed.)
shilsen said:It's a sad commentary on my priorities that I was more horrified by the Sage's use of "addition" for "edition" than most of the rules errors he's made over time![]()
Silveras said:Don't worry about it; that was my reaction, as well.
Aelf said:Fear not, the Sage's profound diplomacy skill will adjust your reaction to friendly in just a few minutes ...
Aelf,
friendly neighborhood bard
The Sage is wrong, as he often is. He really should look at the rules first.dcollins said:Yes. Personal email from the Sage (Skip Williams), 1/16/2003:
Falling damage is not from a weapon or natural attack--the ground doesn't even have to make an attack roll to hit you. It's clear in the description that DR does NOT apply.SRD said:Damage Reduction
A creature with this special quality ignores damage from most weapons and natural attacks. Wounds heal immediately, or the weapon bounces off harmlessly (in either case, the opponent knows the attack was ineffective). The creature takes normal damage from energy attacks (even nonmagical ones), spells, spell-like abilities, and supernatural abilities. A certain kind of weapon can sometimes damage the creature normally, as noted below.
Oh, there's some wiggle room, as it's not on the list of things to which DR does not apply, even though it's not on the list of things to which DR does apply. Both are included in the rule on DR.Krelios said:The Sage is wrong, as he often is. He really should look at the rules first.
Falling damage is not from a weapon or natural attack--the ground doesn't even have to make an attack roll to hit you. It's clear in the description that DR does NOT apply.