Double weapon buffing

Krafen said:
My first thought was it would only affect one end of the weapon, as per the weapon enchantment rules. After reviewing the spell description, however, it looks like a double weapon would gain the enhancement bonus regardless of which end you attacked with.



edit: spelling
Where do you get that... from what you quoted?


A double weapon is two weapons... despite being attached.

Mike
 

log in or register to remove this ad

A double weapon is certainly priced as two for magic item purposes, but I don't know if the same is true for buffing spells like magic weapon. Perhaps that is one of the inherent benefits of a double weapon.
 

mikebr99 said:
Where do you get that... from what you quoted?


A double weapon is two weapons... despite being attached.

Mike

I think that I would have to agree with Krafen on this one. In my mind, a double weapon is still one weapon (as indicated by the Equipment section of the SRD) that has the ability to act as two weapons. When creating a magic weapon, it is treated as two weapons, but that is a specific case. Can anybody come up with another rules quote that would imply differently?
 

burnrate said:
A double weapon is certainly priced as two for magic item purposes, but I don't know if the same is true for buffing spells like magic weapon. Perhaps that is one of the inherent benefits of a double weapon.
Then that should be explicitly written somewhere... that temp enhancements do both ends, while permanent ones do not.


Mike
 

Deset Gled said:
I think that I would have to agree with Krafen on this one. In my mind, a double weapon is still one weapon (as indicated by the Equipment section of the SRD) that has the ability to act as two weapons. When creating a magic weapon, it is treated as two weapons, but that is a specific case. Can anybody come up with another rules quote that would imply differently?
You are "creating a magic weapon", when casting MW or GMW... just not a permanent one.


Mike
 

Don't confuse casting MW or GMW with the rules on Craft Magic Arms and Armor. You are not crafting a new double sword when you cast magic weapon on it. The double sword does not even need to be masterwork, for instance.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
Don't confuse casting MW or GMW with the rules on Craft Magic Arms and Armor. You are not crafting a new double sword when you cast magic weapon on it. The double sword does not even need to be masterwork, for instance.
I am not confused about anything... in order to get both ends of a double weapon enchanced by MW or GWM, you need to cast the spell twice... once on each end.


Mike
 

mikebr99 said:
I am not confused about anything... in order to get both ends of a double weapon enchanced by MW or GWM, you need to cast the spell twice... once on each end.
You are referencing the rules on Crafting weapons and that has nothing to do with MW or GMW, so that's why I say don't confuse the issue (I'm not saying you are confused, just asking you not to confuse the issue :)). A double weapon is a single weapon with two ends. Nothing about MW or GMW says you need to cast it on both ends of a single weapon.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
You are referencing the rules on Crafting weapons and that has nothing to do with MW or GMW, so that's why I say don't confuse the issue (I'm not saying you are confused, just asking you not to confuse the issue :)). A double weapon is a single weapon with two ends. Nothing about MW or GMW says you need to cast it on both ends of a single weapon.
Nothing in MW or GMW says you can cast it on a double weapon, and both end get the benefit either... Otherwise it should have been worded as greater magic fang:
SRD said:
This spell functions like magic fang, except that the enhancement bonus on attack and damage rolls is +1 per four caster levels (maximum +5).
Alternatively, you may imbue all of the creature’s natural weapons with a +1 enhancement bonus (regardless of your caster level).
Mike
 

mikebr99 said:
Nothing in MW or GMW says you can cast it on a double weapon, and both end get the benefit either
Both MW and GMW say you can cast it on a weapon (a natural weapon being excluded). The spells are not otherwise more specific. You can cast it on anything that qualifies as a 'weapon'. So, is a double weapon a 'weapon'? The answer is clearly yes. You say it's actually two weapons, but you have not given any proof of that statement.

mikebr99 said:
... Otherwise it should have been worded as greater magic fang:
Mike
Shoulda, woulda, coulda. :) I said earlier that I agree it should have been spelled out like you propose, I just don't agree it's that way per the rules.
 

Remove ads

Top