Double weapon buffing

Philip said:
A double weapon is one weapon.

When considering Crafting, a double weapon is treated as two weapons.

When using two weapons style fighting with a double weapon, it is treated as two weapons, with the off hand considered a light weapon.

Does MW and GMW treat double weapons as two weapons? We don't know. But we do know... <snip>
But we do know that we have a bunch of weapon buffing spells... across many spell lists, and only one (Shillelagh) mentions that is works on both ends of a double weapon, with one casting.

Mike
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Infiniti2000 said:
So now someone comes along and disarms/sunders the first guy (with the quarterstaff). Does the DM (i.e. you) now ask "Which one?"

Oh, wait, do you mean it's not actually two weapons? Or, did you just forget this HUGE benefit of two-weapon wielders?
Playing Devil's advocate, a double-weapon is harder to sunder or disarm than a light weapon, which balances things out somewhat on that score...
 

Bauglir said:
Playing Devil's advocate, a double-weapon is harder to sunder or disarm than a light weapon, which balances things out somewhat on that score...
Sure, but a double weapon is clearly not the same thing as two weapons for sundering and disarming. And, remember that we're discussing double weapons and two weapons. Some people keep saying that a double weapon is two weapons and then inexplicably ignoring the cases when it's not.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
Sure, but a double weapon is clearly not the same thing as two weapons for sundering and disarming. And, remember that we're discussing double weapons and two weapons. Some people keep saying that a double weapon is two weapons and then inexplicably ignoring the cases when it's not.

Yeah.

FWIW, RAW a double weapon is just one weapon (although it emulates 2 weapons) and hence I believe that both ends would benefit from the enhancement of a GMW.

However I don't feel that this is balanced. In-game I rule that the spell only affects one end of the weapon, or both ends at -1 bonus.
 

Remove ads

Top