Double Weapons

Plus its a nice catch-all in case they ever make a double weapon that is medium sized, er... two handed but can be wielded in one hand. Just in case.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Okay, lets try this a different way...

A creature wielding a double weapon in one hand can’t use it as a double weapon-only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round.
This is the quote you say is relevant. But lets look at it more closely.
It is a conditional statement. *IF* you are weilding one-handed, *THEN* it can't be used as a double weapon.

So the key is to see who meets the first part of that conditional.

ie.

A creature flying can be targetted by magic missle. Is also a conditional statement. But it does NOT mean that all creatures can fly.

A creature wielding a double weapon in one hand
This raises the question of *who* meets this conditional. *WHO* can weild a double weapon in one hand? Everybody? If you say weapon and weilder size doesn't matter, than we are back to the grig using the Huge double axe; and that is patently absurd. So we need to look at the rest of the rules to see who meets this conditional criteria.

Well there it is. A creature one size category larger can weild it one handed. That is the way to meet the conditional. Just like picking a hawk would meet the flying conditional.

Yes, you are right, *anyone* weilding it one-handed is affected by the above rule. But *only* those large enough can wield it one handed. An orc using his double axe is not large enough to wield it one handed, and he cannot fly; therefore neither rule affects him.

Hope that clears things up. I would love to go toe to toe with HS; it is kinda fun. But in this case he is right. (okay, most cases...unless he is being too literal ;) )

The rule is not useless, but it only applys to certain creatures in certain situations.

.
 

Remove ads

Top