log in or register to remove this ad

 

Expert Tactician?

sineater

First Post
Ok with expert tactician you are allowed to make an extra partial action after you attack, correct? If so then can you defer or ready that action against your enemy? So say if he takes a five foot step to cast a spell you can be right there to attack him. Causing him to make a concentration check. Am I correct or do I have this all messed up? Don't have the book in front of me I am working right now.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Caliban

Rules Monkey
sineater said:
Ok with expert tactician you are allowed to make an extra partial action after you attack, correct?

No, after the errata you only get to make a single extra melee attack, not a partial action. As such, you can't defer it. You have to take it immediately before or after your action.

Check the Song and Silence book for the most up to date version of the feat.
 

Doorf

First Post
From FAQ

An opponent who fails to detect your Bluff when you use
Quicker Than the Eye does not see the partial action you take
after the Bluff, so your opponent is denied his Dexterity bonus
against your melee attacks. If you also have the Expert
Tactician feat, you can make an immediate free attack against a
foe who failed his Spot check against your Bluff. Once you do
so, that opponent is observing you again, and that opponent
will observe you if you try to run away after the free attack.
Because the attack you make by virtue of your Expert Tactician
feat is a free action, you could attempt to use Quicker Than the
Eye again, but your opponent should get a bonus to the Spot
check. The second Bluff check also is a move-equivalent
action, so you would be done acting for the round. If the second
Bluff check succeeded, however, your opponent would once
again not see you, and you could make another free attack by
virtue of your Expert Tactician feat.


Sage made here a mistake allowing more then one free attack per round. This would allow you to make infinite numbers of attacks if you attack someone flatfooted.
Ex.:
1 You win initiative you move next to enemy.
2 Your enemy is denied dex.
3 You make free attack.
4 Is your enemy denied dex?
5 Yes -> Go to point 3 till your enemy is dead.

Expert tactician feat should NEVER allow more then one free attack per round.
 

jontherev

First Post
Doorf said:
From FAQ

An opponent who fails to detect your Bluff when you use
Quicker Than the Eye does not see the partial action you take
after the Bluff, so your opponent is denied his Dexterity bonus
against your melee attacks. If you also have the Expert
Tactician feat, you can make an immediate free attack against a
foe who failed his Spot check against your Bluff. Once you do
so, that opponent is observing you again, and that opponent
will observe you if you try to run away after the free attack.
Because the attack you make by virtue of your Expert Tactician
feat is a free action, you could attempt to use Quicker Than the
Eye again, but your opponent should get a bonus to the Spot
check. The second Bluff check also is a move-equivalent
action, so you would be done acting for the round. If the second
Bluff check succeeded, however, your opponent would once
again not see you, and you could make another free attack by
virtue of your Expert Tactician feat.


Sage made here a mistake allowing more then one free attack per round. This would allow you to make infinite numbers of attacks if you attack someone flatfooted.
Ex.:
1 You win initiative you move next to enemy.
2 Your enemy is denied dex.
3 You make free attack.
4 Is your enemy denied dex?
5 Yes -> Go to point 3 till your enemy is dead.

Expert tactician feat should NEVER allow more then one free attack per round.

He made at least 3 mistakes. IIRC, the feat states that it can only be used once per round. Also, it states that it has to be used at the beginning or end of your normal action, not in the middle somewhere. Also, when you successfully bluff someone, they are not immediately denied their dex bonus to you. It comes when you actually attack.
 

Advertisement2

Advertisement4

Top