FAQ Update

dcollins

Explorer
A summary of the most recent updates to core-rules official FAQs follow.

Main FAQ v. 01302003 (now 62 pages):
(1) Undead barbarians use Charisma to determine rage duration.
(2) Bards are affected by their own inspire courage, competence, and countersongs (and not other song types).
(3) A long series of conditions illustrating what makes one lose a Dexterity bonus to AC (re: uncanny dodge).
(4) Wizards don't have "any skill" in-class, but rather "any Knowledge skill" in-class.
(5) Cleric/paladin caster levels don't stack.
(6) Class abilities based on "level" presume "class level" (but stack from multiple sources).
(7) As an example of #6, a cleric/paladin gets only 3+Cha turn attempts per day, at an increased level of effect.
(8) Say a character has two weapons of speed and a "haste" spell: he only gets one single extra attack in a round. (p. 25)
(9) You only threaten an area with a weapon you are actively wielding/gripped. Changing grip requires a free action (similar to drawing) on your turn. (long examples, p. 36)
(10) You can ready a damaging spell against an opponent casting a spell.
(11) Casting a touch spell against an opponent's reach weapon is ineffective. But, you may ready a touch spell against a monster with natural reach.
(12) Creatures usually do not block line-of-effect (such as for a lightning bolt).
(13) "Instantaneous" spells are over in an instant, but the effects do not go away.
(14) A "command" spell will not automatically disrupt spellcasting (Concentration still applies).
(15) Characters count as "creatures" for "detect evil", etc.
(16) "Searing light" still suffers a miss chance versus an incorporeal spectre, but does damage at the "vulnerable to light" rate.
(17) A "greater shadow evocation" "wall of force" blocks creatures and effects, but only 40% so for those who interact & save, including the spellcaster.
(18) There's no save to avoid entrapment in a hemispherical "wall of force".
(19) Armor does add to encumbrance (counter to the "D&D Conversion Guide" statement).

Monster FAQ v. 01302003:
(20) Big cats can only get 2 rake attacks per round.


Opinion/Editorial
The items the catch my eye as most interesting or controversial are:
(8) Addresses the frequent debate over weapons of speed & haste. I think this may be a revision to previous ruling that multiple weapons of speed grant an attack for each one. It's counter to some who've argue that the rule only forbids speed-weapon attacks with a haste-partial-action. It doesn't yet address the issue of whether one needs a full attack action to use a weapon-of-speed (the Sage has said "no" in the past).

(9) Is not in any of the books (free action to change weapon grip), and is fairly significant. The several examples clearly demonstrate that one is stuck with the weapon they last used (wielded/gripped) for the purpose of AOOs. Holding a two-handed (reach) weapon in one hand doesn't give you AOOs, even if the other hand is empty (it needs to be previously gripping the weapon). This would impinge on people wielding bows and making AOOs with gauntlets, if it weren't for the fact you can free-action a hand free at the end of your turn, and grab the bow again at the start of your next turn.

(11) Opens the door for possibly attacking a reach-monster's limbs when you can't actually reach their body.

(18) Reinforces the no-save "wall of force" entrapment method that some people think is broken.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


(11) Casting a touch spell against an opponent's reach weapon is ineffective.

[frown]

I haven't gone and read the FAQ yet... but how does that mesh with the rule that you can use a targetted spell on someone with full cover from a tower shield, by targetting the shield?

-Hyp.
 

Re: Re: FAQ Update

Hypersmurf said:


[frown]

I haven't gone and read the FAQ yet... but how does that mesh with the rule that you can use a targetted spell on someone with full cover from a tower shield, by targetting the shield?

-Hyp.
It doesn't effect it at all. Just saying that you can't get an easy touch attack against a weapon waving around.
 

Re: Re: Re: FAQ Update

It doesn't effect it at all. Just saying that you can't get an easy touch attack against a weapon waving around.

But there are mechanics in place for striking a weapon that's waving around. And the tower shield precedent says that a targetted spell can affect a creature by targetting that creature's equipment.

-Hyp.
 

Hmm. Read the FAQ entry in its entirety, and I can see where he's coming from. I'll have to think about it, though... I would have thought that there's a difference between a 10' longspear and a 50' rope, but hey.

I notice he doesn't list Bluff/Feint and QttE in the list of ways-to-lose-your-Dex-bonus :)

-Hyp.
 

dcollins said:
(11) Opens the door for possibly attacking a reach-monster's limbs when you can't actually reach their body.

I don't think this is a problem, since you're only getting an attack when you have readied for the creature to attack you. I would have allowed this anyway, before the FAQ update.

Overall I like all the FAQ additions this time. The Command one could have a used a little clarification. You may not be able to disrupt a spellcaster by commanding him to "babble", but you should be able to do so by commanding him to "sleep".
 


dcollins said:
(8) Say a character has two weapons of speed and a "haste" spell: he only gets one single extra attack in a round. (p. 25)

I shoulda seen this coming. They're getting ready for the new Haste.
 

Thanx for the summary.

But why the heck this No-Save-Against-A-Wall-Of-Force-Ruling? It has been debated over and over, and IMHO, it's BROKEN (compared to other entrap spells).

As a wizard, I would never cast a Forcecage (level 7 spell), when I have WoF in my spellbook. Ok, the duration of a WoF is quite short (some minutes), but it's size increases with caster level, is a level 5 spell and has no expensive materials, the cage has always the same size, needs preparation and is very expensive (1500 GP PER use!).
 

Remove ads

Top