Flaming Sphere?

Can you have a flaming sphere appear in midair? If so, does it fall? If so, does the fall count against the sphere's movement in a round? Finally, would a flaming sphere suffer a movement penalty for terrain (e.g. going up stairs or through mud)?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Ogrork the Mighty said:
Can you have a flaming sphere appear in midair? If so, does it fall? If so, does the fall count against the sphere's movement in a round? Finally, would a flaming sphere suffer a movement penalty for terrain (e.g. going up stairs or through mud)?
I'm not sure there are official answers to these questions. This is how I'd rule it.

1. Can you have a Flaming Sphere appear in midair? No. It has to appear on something that can support it.

2. Would a Flaming Sphere suffer a movement penalty for terrain? No. The ball bounces where it's told. :p
 

Ogrork the Mighty said:
Can you have a flaming sphere appear in midair?
From my reading of the spell, I don't think so. It moves by rolling along the ground. It can jump up to 30 feet as part of this movement.

Finally, would a flaming sphere suffer a movement penalty for terrain (e.g. going up stairs or through mud)?
The spell description says it can roll over furniture or low walls, so it should not suffer a movement penalty for most terrain. It can also ascend so stairs should not provide any difficulty for its movement.
 


To add to the questions, since I've got a Flaming Sphere-happy Sorcerer:

Would a Web spell inhibit the FS at all? I say no, but half-movement sounds reasonable.

Would brush or small trees inhibit the movement? I commonly use brush as an environmental speed-bump and penalty for missile combat. I ruled that brush slows it down, and may catch fire, depending on recent weather and the DM's dice.

Telas
 


Telas said:
Would brush or small trees inhibit the movement? I commonly use brush as an environmental speed-bump and penalty for missile combat. I ruled that brush slows it down, and may catch fire, depending on recent weather and the DM's dice.

The sphere seems pretty agile and is spongy and yielding, so I interpret rolling over low obstacles to not inhibit its movement at all. edit: I picture its consistency as something like a not-quite-inflated beach ball or a puffball fungus: close to weightless, and able to squash inwards up to two feet. On second thought, if the brush or low trees are more than 4 feet tall, they should present the same sort of obstacle to the sphere as they would do to a Medium creature, either reducing it to half speed or preventing it moving through.

Brush or trees ignite when touched unless they are sufficiently damp not to consider them flammable.

On the original questions, nothing states that the sphere must form on a solid surface. If cast in midair it falls to the ground, not counting the fall as movement and not taking or causing any falling damage.

The sphere can roll up stairs.

You raise an interesting question about mud, and by extension water. I see nothing to indicate that it must roll on the ground as opposed to another surface, and it has tallow as a material component. I think the sphere would roll over mud or water like solid ground.
 
Last edited:

My rule on the Sphere was that it spends double-movement on brush, just as the PCs do. The base DC is 15 for the brush to resist the flames, with recent rainfall (or lack thereof) affecting the roll. Every round the Sphere remains in one square, reduce the DC by 5.

SRD: It can be extinguished by any means that would put out a normal fire of its size.

IMC, it weighs enough to sink in water, although it'll probably move through mud, leaving a track. Water of sufficient height (over 3 feet) will douse it, but mud won't.

A Create Water spell would probably take a contested roll, adding ability bonuses and spell levels to d20 rolls, or something like that.... but at this point I'm making stuff up.

Telas
 

Ogrork the Mighty said:
Can you have a flaming sphere appear in midair?

No. Here are the rules from the PHB/SRD under "Magic Overview: Spell Descriptions: Conjuration":

A creature or object brought into being or transported to your location by a conjuration spell cannot appear inside another creature or object, nor can it appear floating in an empty space. It must arrive in an open location on a surface capable of supporting it.
 

dcollins said:
No. Here are the rules from the PHB/SRD under "Magic Overview: Spell Descriptions: Conjuration":

Doesn't apply. Flaming sphere is an evocation.

Edited my earlier post.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top