Full attack with more weapons

Darklone said:
As soon as you use the second weapon, you'll get the penalty. Simple matter of coordination. Same for me in case you try to use a Spiked gauntlet with a polearm.

But according to the descriptions under Full Attack, I can freely attack once then decide if I want to do a full attack, or move away. :)

So therefore, I declare my attack against the ogre next to me - and I hit him with primary attack (I'm just holding that dagger in my off hand - not attacking with yet). I do damage, but he doesn't drop... So now I attack with my offhand...

When do the penalties start/stop?

I'm thinking it's a tad unclear...
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Tilla the Hun (work) said:
But according to the descriptions under Full Attack, I can freely attack once then decide if I want to do a full attack, or move away. :)

So therefore, I declare my attack against the ogre next to me - and I hit him with primary attack (I'm just holding that dagger in my off hand - not attacking with yet). I do damage, but he doesn't drop... So now I attack with my offhand...

When do the penalties start/stop?

I'm thinking it's a tad unclear...
The penalties for TWF apply to all your attacks in the round. If you don't take the penalty for your first attack, you can't decide to use TWF later.

So if you're not sure your first hit is going to drop your target, take the penalty. If you drop him, you can choose to end the full attack and move, if you don't you can choose to continue the full attack with your extra attacks.
 

The problem comes from no longer having to declare intention before acting.

IMO, when it is your turn, you should declare "I'll use both my weapons on the ogre" or "I'll use only my longsword".

AR
 

The problem comes from no longer having to declare intention before acting.

IMO, when it is your turn, you should declare "I'll use both my weapons on the ogre" or "I'll use only my longsword".

elaboration:

In 2E, before you rolled for initiative, you had to know what you were going to do, because you had to add the correct value to your initiative count (weapon speed, casting time, man I'm glad that's over).

In 3E, you roll for initiative first, and decide what you will do when your turn comes up, making a decision on the situation at hand. IMO, it should be considered not a total freedom situation, more of a complex "Ready" action, that's too complicated to put into words or cover all situations.

When the fighter's turn comes up in combat, his preparation should go something like this:
a) "I'll attack with my sword. If I can kill the ogre in one blow, I'll move towards the evil cleric. If I use up all my attacks to kill the ogre, I'll move 5 feet forward towards the evil cleric. If after my attacks the ogre is still standing, I'll pray to Kord I'm still alive after he does the same to me."
or
b) "That ogre looks tough, but easy to hit. I'll attack as much as I can, with my sword and trusty dagger. If I can kill the ogre in one blow, I'll move towards the evil cleric. If I use up all my attacks to kill the ogre, I'll move 5 feet forward towards the evil cleric. If after my attacks the ogre is still standing, I'll pray to Kord I'm still alive after he tries to smash my face down to my junk."

AR
 


Actually, I could see this effecting one of my current characters that I am playing.

Marcus:
Left hand: Shortword +10/+5
Right hand: Hand crossbow +10/+5


Am I allowed to declare- I fire my crossbow at target b, and swing my sword at target a?

If I do that Am I considered Ranged: +10, then Melee +5


Two weapon combat only applies to melee weapons and thrown weapons. Is that action possible with that weapon combo?
 

Macbrea said:
Actually, I could see this effecting one of my current characters that I am playing.

Marcus:
Left hand: Shortword +10/+5
Right hand: Hand crossbow +10/+5


Am I allowed to declare- I fire my crossbow at target b, and swing my sword at target a?

If I do that Am I considered Ranged: +10, then Melee +5


Two weapon combat only applies to melee weapons and thrown weapons. Is that action possible with that weapon combo?
I'd allow that. From the SRD:
Crossbow, Hand: You can draw a hand crossbow back by hand. Loading a hand crossbow is a move action that provokes attacks of opportunity.

You can shoot, but not load, a hand crossbow with one hand at no penalty. You can shoot a hand crossbow with each hand, but you take a penalty on attack rolls as if attacking with two light weapons.
Now, it only says you can "shoot a hand crossbow with each hand," but I see nothing gamebreaking in switching one of those crossbows for a melee weapon. In fact, this makes the hand crossbow almost worthwhile..hmm...
 

Altamont Ravenard said:
The problem comes from no longer having to declare intention before acting.

IMO, when it is your turn, you should declare "I'll use both my weapons on the ogre" or "I'll use only my longsword".

AR
That is pretty much the way it works now, 3.0 or 3.5.

You have to declare if you are doing a full attack action or a standard attack.

If you declare a full attack, you also have to declare if you are using anything that affects all your attacks (Rapid Shot, TWF, Expertise, Power Attack, etc.).

The thing about a full attack action is that you can decide to break out of it after the first attack and treat it as a standard action instead. However, you still have all the penalties for the feats you declared, even if you didn't end up using them.
 

Caliban said:
...If you declare a full attack, you also have to declare if you are using anything that affects all your attacks (Rapid Shot, TWF, Expertise, Power Attack, etc.).

The thing about a full attack action is that you can decide to break out of it after the first attack and treat it as a standard action instead. However, you still have all the penalties for the feats you declared, even if you didn't end up using them.

I don't think you'll find this clearly stated in the rules, but it's the only way you can do it because otherwise you'd have to retoractively apply bonuses/penalties after even knowing if you hit or not. Obviously that's a bit ludicrous, so Caliban is correct.
 

MeepoTheMighty said:
I'd allow that. From the SRD:

Now, it only says you can "shoot a hand crossbow with each hand," but I see nothing gamebreaking in switching one of those crossbows for a melee weapon. In fact, this makes the hand crossbow almost worthwhile..hmm...
Nevermind, I wasn't thinking straight. Hand crossbows are still worthless. You can get the same damage from daggers without having to use an exotic weapon proficiency, and daggers can switch easily from melee to ranged if need be.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top