D&D 5E General rules questions about the game.


log in or register to remove this ad

Looking for others opinions...

So I almost always exclusively play Paladins and here recently I had a DM in an online game try to tell me that my Aura of Protection does not apply to my own CHA saving throws.

RAW states the following -
Aura of Protection
Starting at 6th level, whenever you or a friendly creature within 10 feet of you must make a saving throw, the
creature gains a bonus to the saving throw equal to your Charisma modifier (with a minim um bonus of +1).

The way I interpret this when I DM is that you roll your d20, add your CHA mod and then you add a bonus which just happens to be powered by the same stat (CHA).

To me, my method is correct and I don't see a problem with how it's written, but this guy cannot wrap the idea around his head and kind of puts me off not being able to understand. :erm:

What do you guys think?
 

You are obviously correct. I think they're referring to the horrifically-confused Pathfinder ruling which said you can never double-dip a stat, so it's fine to have +str+dex on a thing, but not +dex+dex no matter what ever, which they derived from a horrible mangling of the "source" rule. There's nothing comparable to that in D&D. You get a bonus equal to your charisma modifier on all saves. Period. If you are making a save, you roll the save normally and then you add a bonus equal to your cha mod. Doesn't matter what the original save was.
 

Looking for others opinions...

So I almost always exclusively play Paladins and here recently I had a DM in an online game try to tell me that my Aura of Protection does not apply to my own CHA saving throws.

RAW states the following -


The way I interpret this when I DM is that you roll your d20, add your CHA mod and then you add a bonus which just happens to be powered by the same stat (CHA).

To me, my method is correct and I don't see a problem with how it's written, but this guy cannot wrap the idea around his head and kind of puts me off not being able to understand. :erm:

What do you guys think?
You are correct. There is nothing in the rules indicating to treat your Cha save differently than any other save.
 

There are lots of times when people can't get their head around RAW based on an expectation of how it worked in a previous edition, or how they think it should work. We had one player who kept arguing with our DM that the playtest ranger's favored enemy damage bonus wasn't per hit, when it clearly was. And then he was like, this is unbalanced. Compared to what? Action surge? Advantage on every attack? Hunter's Mark? Of course they did nerf it in the end, which is one reason why I don't play rangers in 5e. They are too weak to play for more than a handful of levels for the skills and fighting style. Had their abilities worked with each attack, they would have been competitive with fighters and paladins, but instead, they aren't. I guess they didn't want a repeat of 4e where there was the ranger (and warlord), and then everything else.
 

Looking for others opinions...

So I almost always exclusively play Paladins and here recently I had a DM in an online game try to tell me that my Aura of Protection does not apply to my own CHA saving throws.

RAW states the following -


The way I interpret this when I DM is that you roll your d20, add your CHA mod and then you add a bonus which just happens to be powered by the same stat (CHA).

To me, my method is correct and I don't see a problem with how it's written, but this guy cannot wrap the idea around his head and kind of puts me off not being able to understand. :erm:

What do you guys think?
I agree with your interpretation. I can see where the math grammar might make some folks twitchy, but that they would have said something like "use Charisma modifier in place of the normal ability" or "make a Charisma save instead of the normal save". That would have been even weirder, IMO.
 


Remember that the game doesn't explicitly state the rate of falls, so I guess you go by physics, which unfortunately amounts to doing homework.

Useful Guideline To Remember: You fall 500 feet the first round, then 1000 feet each round after that. (That's not quite right, I think it's closer to 600/1000, but 500/1000 is easier to remember and easier to do math around.)
 

Can a rogue use Expertise on Perception gained through Keen Senses?

I don't see why not. Nothing in the text of Expertise explicitly restricts which skill proficiencies you may select, and I don't see anything subtly implying such a restriction, either. Nothing in the text of Keen Senses implies that the proficiency it grants is in any way unusual or different than any other skill proficiency.

The authors of Expertise surely knew that in addition to rogue skills, a PC would have background skills for certain, possibly racial skills, and possibly class skills from an earlier class. So if Expertise were meant to forbid racial skills or be restricted to rogue skill I think it would say so.
 


Remove ads

Top