drnuncheon
Explorer
Pax said:Aghast that people forget "occam's razor" -- the simplest anser is (usually) best. The simplest answer isn't one that creates new questions.
You mean questions like "how can you possibly justify combining a 3rd level spell and a 2000 gp magical item to make an effectively permanent +5 weapon?"
Occam's razor cuts both ways. The item says nothing about temporal stasis (only generic 'stasis', which could be a physical stasis instead), or about spell durations being suspended. Thus, the simplest answer is that they are not. The item is held without change, but the spell isn't the item, so the spell is not held without change.
To go back to your 'flaming by spell effect' question, this means that yes, the flames would be 'frozen', but the spell producing them would not be, and it's duration would tick down normally. Bring the sword out during the duration and it's flaming, Bring the sword out afterwards and you get a momentary burst of flame as the ones that were 'frozen' burn themselves out, then nothing (because there's nothing there to make them continue).
Your big sticking point is that you have decided that 'stasis' means 'temporal stasis', and that stasis on an item affects all spells upon that item as well. However, there appears to be no indication of this in the rulebooks.
J