Gloves of Storing Question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Pax said:
Aghast that people forget "occam's razor" -- the simplest anser is (usually) best. The simplest answer isn't one that creates new questions.

You mean questions like "how can you possibly justify combining a 3rd level spell and a 2000 gp magical item to make an effectively permanent +5 weapon?"

Occam's razor cuts both ways. The item says nothing about temporal stasis (only generic 'stasis', which could be a physical stasis instead), or about spell durations being suspended. Thus, the simplest answer is that they are not. The item is held without change, but the spell isn't the item, so the spell is not held without change.

To go back to your 'flaming by spell effect' question, this means that yes, the flames would be 'frozen', but the spell producing them would not be, and it's duration would tick down normally. Bring the sword out during the duration and it's flaming, Bring the sword out afterwards and you get a momentary burst of flame as the ones that were 'frozen' burn themselves out, then nothing (because there's nothing there to make them continue).

Your big sticking point is that you have decided that 'stasis' means 'temporal stasis', and that stasis on an item affects all spells upon that item as well. However, there appears to be no indication of this in the rulebooks.

J
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Pax said:

No.

If you stop or interrupt combustion, it STAYS stopped. Is the torch re-lit when it is returned from sstorage? No, it's simply still a lit torch. It doesn't flare back to life, it's already fully lit and burning.


It does if you use magic to "pause" the combustion and then "unpause" it later. Which is exactly what the gloves do.

They just don't "pause" magical effects, only physical ones.

Mad because it doesn't work the way I want it to?

No, I'm aghast that people can so misconstrue a clearly-worded concept. Items are shrunk *and* held "in stasis" ... that means "without change" ... which would include spell durations.

I'm equally aghast at how certain people try to pretend that "stasis" and "temporal stasis" are the same thing so that they can use a 2,000 gp magic item to make certain spell effectively permanent.

Stop listening to your inner munchkin and actually think about the in game effects of what you are proposing.

Aghast that people forget "occam's razor" -- the simplest anser is (usually) best. The simplest answer isn't one that creates new questions.

I did use occams razor:

The glove put's items in stasis.

Is a spell an item?

No.

Therefore spells are not affected by the stasis.

Very, very simple.
 
Last edited:

I think everybody needs to take some deep breaths here, with it being the holiday season and all.

Thanks all for the discussion on this, but I got my reply from WotC (see above post) and am going to use that.

This is starting to get a little heated back and forth, so I'm going to request a moderator close this thread.

Happy Holidays!
 



Status
Not open for further replies.
Remove ads

Top