Gloves of Storing Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

log in or register to remove this ad


*shrug* Not my fault you don't understand stasis.

I do understand stasis. Probably much better than you it would appear. But, I will concede that there are many RL versions of stasis that are being improved upon every day. Like for space travel is one example, but for all I know this is still in the theory state.


I never stated that the objects in the glove were reduced to 0 degree's kelvin. That was a real-life example of stasis, not an example of magical stasis. You are jumping to conclusions not warrented by the facts in evidence.

Freezing is just one just one form of stasis. Stasis is also a stable state of balanced forces (as in homeostasis).

Please refer to previous post.


Um, it's called magic. Perhaps you've heard of it.

Of course, I have heard of it. If you didn't read my entire post before jumping to the reply then you would have found out that I did address magic. Keep reading my friend and one day you will understand.



I will use much smaller words next time. Will that help you?

Please do that may help you out in understanding what is going on.


"All things are possible with magic" doesn't fly in D&D. Certain things are possible with certain spells and certain levels of magic.

Hence, all things are possible when you think about it.


What is you want is not possible with the shrink item spell and a 2,000 gp magic item. Think on that.

It is entirely possible due to the fact the the item description and the rules do not say that it does not. Thought about it... Next question.


And you still have not addressed the fact that a spell is not an object, and the glove only put's objects in stasis. You keep focusing on an off-hand comment I made that isn't directly relevent to the discussion.

Okay, if I have not addressed this yet I appologize. When you cast that spell upon an item that is able to accept the spell that spell now becomes part of that item. Albeit that the spell most likely is temporary, but during the time that it lasts it is part of the item. Since that being the case, once the object/item goes into the glove the spell that is on that object/item goes with it. The glove does not dispell the spell that was placed upon the item. It does not seperate the spell from the object/item in any way, shape, or form. Now the question lies in whether the spell duration runs out in the glove, or does time stop ticking for the spell.

Did I address this well enough for you?


Nothing in the gloves description mentions putting spells in stasis. Just objects.

First, see previous post.

Second, I belive that was the problem at hand because the descriptive text given for the particular item is broken, and needs fixing. That is what we are trying to address here.

If this seems to be an afront to an attack on you personally then I will appologize now.
 
Last edited:


The glove of storing uses shrink item as the basis for its ability.

Shrink item is able to store items as cloth representations. I think we can probably agree that this is more or less what's happening with the glove.

Thus, it's not really that time has stopped for the item - it's that physical change has stopped for the item (since it's turned into cloth).

If the flaming torch is turned to cloth, it will no longer burn - it's not a fire on top of a torch, it's a bit of red & orange cloth on top of a bit of brown cloth. When it stops being cloth, it's a fire again and you have a lit torch.

If the magicked sword is turned to cloth, you suddenly have a +5 miniscule piece of cloth. The cloth is still +5 to hit and damage (for whatever good that does), and the GMW spell expires normally.

If you had a continual flame cast on the sword, you would then have a miniscule piece of cloth with continual flame cast on it. Since the item in the glove is not visible (for whatever reason), the light would not be visible either.

Simple. Rules-friendly. Balance-friendly. What more do you need?

J
 

The glove of storing uses shrink item as the basis for its ability.

Shrink item is able to store items as cloth representations. I think we can probably agree that this is more or less what's happening with the glove.

Thus, it's not really that time has stopped for the item - it's that physical change has stopped for the item (since it's turned into cloth).

If the flaming torch is turned to cloth, it will no longer burn - it's not a fire on top of a torch, it's a bit of red & orange cloth on top of a bit of brown cloth. When it stops being cloth, it's a fire again and you have a lit torch.

If the magicked sword is turned to cloth, you suddenly have a +5 miniscule piece of cloth. The cloth is still +5 to hit and damage (for whatever good that does), and the GMW spell expires normally.

If you had a continual flame cast on the sword, you would then have a miniscule piece of cloth with continual flame cast on it. Since the item in the glove is not visible (for whatever reason), the light would not be visible either.

Simple. Rules-friendly. Balance-friendly. What more do you need?

Couldn't have said it better myself without spewing out several lines of derogatory comments. =o)
 

dkilgo said:
If you did take it personal then please don't.

I am a prick to all people most of the time.

Learn not to be prick then. I don't appreciate the attitude, and it certainly doesn't make any of your arguements more valid. It makes many of them less valid.

*shrug* Just be glad that you don't play in my game. None of the crap I have seen you arguing for on this board would fly.

You have far to go in understanding the rules.
 

Pax said:


Then, referrign to my post above, teh torch goes out, and does not re-light.


No, it does not.

No, "cold" does not stop all motion. It stops GROSS motion, but IIRC brownian motion continues. Quantum "motion" would be unhindered.

And, get cold enough, and motion RESTARTS, in very strange ways (look up the behavior of supercooled hydrogen ...)

What part of crude form of stasis are you not comprehending?

*sigh* Just drop it, it doesn't really have anything to do with the gloves of storing. Jeez.


In the case of the gloves, yes, it patently does. Remember the torch.

I remember the torch. Temporarily preserving the torch is not the same thing as stopping time. Stasis and Temporal Stasis are two completely different things.

Then, again: the torch goes out, and is extinguished when returned form stasis.

Nope. Burning is a physical chemical reaction. All of that is stopped when it's placed into stasis, and then starts right back up again when it's removed from stasis.

Spell durations are not a physical process. They are not affected when the OBJECT is placed in stasis.


The description of the item says nothing of the sort.


It says it stores items. I can't see anywhere that it states that it stores spells. Until you can find where it specifically states that a glove of storing stops a spell's duration, then it doesn't stop a spells duration. It's just that simple.

If I take a stick with Contiual Flame on it, and put the stick in Stasis, where does the Continual Flame spell go ... ?
If the Gloves don't store the spell TOO, then the spell doesn't go AWAY (as in, "with the stick") ... so where does it go?

Nowhere. It's still working as normal, just like any other spell. You have a tiny glowing speck stored in the palm of your glove that you can't see. Since you can't see things in the glove, you can't see the glow it gives off.
 

I appologize to every body for the derogatory comments.

Caliban I don't see how I have a long way to go understanding the rules. I have probably just as good a grasp on the rules as most. But, this is way off topic...

I guess since you take things personal that I will now take your kickball and gome home.
 

dkilgo said:
I appologize to every body for the derogatory comments.

Caliban I don't see how I have a long way to go understanding the rules. I have probably just as good a grasp on the rules as most. But, this is way off topic...

I guess since you take things personal that I will now take your kickball and gome home.

You are the one who decided to take it personal. Please feel free to "gome" home with whatever child's toys you want.
 
Last edited:

Caliban said:


You are the one who decided to take it personal. Please feel free to "gome" home with whatever child's toys you want.

All childish things aside, and no I didn't take it personal, what are your comments to my reply excluding rude remarks?

I would really like to hear them for the purpose of possibly changing my mind on the subject. Perhaps my view of the situation is warped in a mild way. The only way that this can be rectified is if there is feed back.

Thanks for your time.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Remove ads

Top