PF Grab and Constrict with multiple attacks

Saelorn

Adventurer
The Alraune has four vine attacks (melee +20, 1d10+7+grab+bleed).
The Alraune has the Constrict ability (1d10+10), and Bleed (2d6).

Barring critical hits, how much damage can an Alraune deal with a full attack action, if each attack is successful?

How much damage can an Alraune deal if it begins a turn with a foe already grappled?
 

Saelorn

Adventurer
What is the wording?

Does it say that if it grabs it can constrict immediately, or that it can constrict the next round?
It's all in the Universal Monster Rules:

pfsrd said:
Constrict (Ex)*

*A creature with this special attack can crush an opponent, dealing bludgeoning damage, when it makes a successful grapple check (in addition to any other effects caused by a successful check, including additional damage). The amount of damage is given in the creature's entry and is typically equal to the amount of damage caused by the creature's melee attack.
And there's a FAQ on it:
FAQ said:
When a creature with constrict grapples a foe, when does it deal constrict damage?

A creature with constrict deals this additional damage every time it makes a successful grapple check against a foe. This includes the first check to establish the grapple (such as when using the grab universal monster rule).
Which references the Grab ability, which the alraune possesses:
pfsrd said:
Grab (Ex)

If a creature with this special attack hits with the indicated attack (usually a claw or bite attack), it deals normal damage and attempts to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity. Unless otherwise noted, grab can only be used against targets of a size equal to or smaller than the creature with this ability. If the creature can use grab on creatures of other sizes, it is noted in the creature's Special Attacks line. The creature has the option to conduct the grapple normally, or simply use the part of its body it used in the grab to hold the opponent. If it chooses to do the latter, it takes a –20 penalty on its CMB check to make and maintain the grapple, but does not gain the grappled condition itself. A successful hold does not deal any extra damage unless the creature also has the constrict special attack. If the creature does not constrict, each successful grapple check it makes during successive rounds automatically deals the damage indicated for the attack that established the hold. Otherwise, it deals constriction damage as well (the amount is given in the creature’s descriptive text).

Creatures with the grab special attack receive a +4 bonus on combat maneuver checks made to start and maintain a grapple.
The point in contention is whether you can grab the same creature multiple times during a full-attack action, and whether each instance triggers the Grab ability, which would further trigger the Constrict ability.
 

Voadam

Adventurer
While grappled you can attack with non-twohanded weapons at a -2 penalty while suffering the -4 dex penalty. So the creature could keep attacking even after gaining the grappled condition

Grappled: A grappled creature is restrained by a creature, trap, or effect. Grappled creatures cannot move and take a –4 penalty to Dexterity. A grappled creature takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks, except those made to grapple or escape a grapple. In addition, grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform. A grappled character who attempts to cast a spell or use a spell-like ability must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level), or lose the spell. Grappled creatures cannot make attacks of opportunity.

A grappled creature cannot use Stealth to hide from the creature grappling it, even if a special ability, such as hide in plain sight, would normally allow it to do so. If a grappled creature becomes invisible, through a spell or other ability, it gains a +2 circumstance bonus on its CMD to avoid being grappled, but receives no other benefit.
However as the initiator it can release the grapple as a free action so inbetween attacks it can release the grapple and grab again and again.

Grapple

As a standard action, you can attempt to grapple a foe, hindering his combat options. If you do not have Improved Grapple, grab, or a similar ability, attempting to grapple a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. Humanoid creatures without two free hands attempting to grapple a foe take a –4 penalty on the combat maneuver roll. If successful, both you and the target gain the grappled condition (see the Appendices). If you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you, move that creature to an adjacent open space (if no space is available, your grapple fails). Although both creatures have the grappled condition, you can, as the creature that initiated the grapple, release the grapple as a free action, removing the condition from both you and the target.
So four attacks, four grabs, four constricts and can choose to maintain the last one, free action release at the beginning of its next round and repeat. Note that releasing to multi constrict as a tactic means it risks letting its prey go if it fails the last attack or CMB roll.

That's my reading of the rules.
 
Does this plant have a move speed? or is is anchored?

I'm wondering as I think the situation would be logically different if we are thinking of it as an anchored immobile "fly trap" (FEED ME!) as opposed to thinking of it as basically a re-skinned octopus.

If they have the same strength, I would think that the stationary plant would be more deadly.

Does it have a "Drag" mechanic, like a roper?
 

Saelorn

Adventurer
Does this plant have a move speed? or is is anchored?
This one has a move speed of 40. I'm not sure how that would change anything, though. (It's limited to one attack in any round where it moves.)

If anything, the question is even more relevant to a Giant Octopus, since it has eight attacks that each have Grab and Constrict on them.

Does it have a "Drag" mechanic, like a roper?
It has the Grab ability, which works similarly. As quoted above, Grab allows it to initiate a grapple whenever it hits, and grappling a creature that isn't adjacent causes it to be moved into an adjacent space.
 
Last edited:
However as the initiator it can release the grapple as a free action so in between attacks it can release the grapple and grab again and again.
Unless the target has armor already capping it's dex, the victim's reduced dex balances out the -2 to hit from being grappled.
 

Advertisement

Top