Greatsword with Charges.

Zarndelius

First Post
A simple question really.

I am currently playing a Gish in a campaign. His favored weapon is obviously the greatsword. I've been considering taking a feat or two in craft magic _____ in order to make some magical equipment (as you get simply buy magical items or are they easily found in this world).

Anyways, I thought it would be really cool if I could have, say a GreatSword +4 that held charges like a staff. Is this possible under the rules of 3.5 without house ruling things?
 

log in or register to remove this ad



Thanks Dandu. I was hoping the rules would state otherwise (it would be nice to have a GreatSword that had charges in it to say cast "Bull Strength, Fox Cunning, Tensors Transformation, etc" instead of having a staff do it, but Spell storing weapon seems to do it to some degree.

I was thinking if I had Craft Staff and Craft Magical Arms, I could pull it off, but I suppose that would be up to the DM.
 

Thanks Dandu. I was hoping the rules would state otherwise (it would be nice to have a GreatSword that had charges in it to say cast "Bull Strength, Fox Cunning, Tensors Transformation, etc" instead of having a staff do it, but Spell storing weapon seems to do it to some degree.

I was thinking if I had Craft Staff and Craft Magical Arms, I could pull it off, but I suppose that would be up to the DM.

I don't think what you're looking for exists, the only way you could probably have such a thing is if you houserule.
 

I wanted to do something similar with a halberd i had custom created and my DM said that if i wanted to make it a staff and have it still keeps its weapon properties that it would cost extra but that it could be done, i think he cited rules from somewhere but i'm not sure where exactly and he's currently out of town.

You could always talk to your DM and see if you could work out a price to make such a thing, which i'm sure you could do i mean if you can weapons that hold wands inside them and count the wand as readied why not a staff or multiple wands.

Fallenibilis
 

Well, it does say that "a rare few" are metal. Perhaps one could allow it but charge more for its creation (as one might do for wondrous items taking more than one "slot")?
 

By my understanding, it would have to be houseruled...but as a DM I certainly wouldn't have an issue with this. After all, he'd either have to use it as a sword, or cast a spell out of it each round...he couldn't do both. So the real benefit would simply be not having to swap sword for staff. And if the PC was willing to pay more for that, I would allow it.
 

Usually it's intelligent weapons who can cast spells but the rules allow for pretty everything you DM says OK:)
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top