Half-Elves and wands

Andor

First Post
Okay, so if a Half-elf takes a warlock or wizard (or artificer) power for his racial dilettante power can he now pick up a wand and use any arcane power?

That seems like a pretty potent racial power if so...
 

log in or register to remove this ad



Tale said:
There is nothing to even suggest this is how things work.
Except, of course, the rules. *sigh*

PHB pg 242. "Using a wand's power is like using the power normally. To do so, you need to be able to use at least one power from the same power source as the wand. For example, a rogue who has picked up at least one wizard power through multiclassing feats could use a wizard power in a wand, since each knows one power that uses the arcane power source."

While slightly incoherant due to poor editing it certainly seems to imply that having any single power from the Arcane power source allows access to all arcane encounter powers through wands.

I'm wondering if anyone knows of some difference between multiclassing and the racial power that stops Half-elves from gaining hyper-flexibility in this way.
 

The Dilettante ability doesn't say that the half-elf becomes proficient with accessories for the power, so I would guess no.

That's true. And I think they wouldn't get the implement bonuses because of that.

I think it's still ambiguous though if they can access a wand's daily power. :erm:
 

I'm wondering if anyone knows of some difference between multiclassing and the racial power that stops Half-elves from gaining hyper-flexibility in this way.

Actually, I'm pretty sure that's part of the point of Half-Elves, to be really good at multiclassing.

Can you give an example as to how this would be game-breaking?
 

I'm wondering if anyone knows of some difference between multiclassing and the racial power that stops Half-elves from gaining hyper-flexibility in this way.

I stand corrected on the point of "nothing to suggest this is how it works."

The better way to phrase it would seem "do you need to be able to use a wand as an implement to use a wand's power?" I should think so, but don't recall it being explicitly stated.

Because you most definitely do not have the ability to use it as an implement just by virtue of dilettante.
 

Except, of course, the rules. *sigh*

PHB pg 242. "Using a wand's power is like using the power normally. To do so, you need to be able to use at least one power from the same power source as the wand. For example, a rogue who has picked up at least one wizard power through multiclassing feats could use a wizard power in a wand, since each knows one power that uses the arcane power source."

While slightly incoherant due to poor editing it certainly seems to imply that having any single power from the Arcane power source allows access to all arcane encounter powers through wands.

I'm wondering if anyone knows of some difference between multiclassing and the racial power that stops Half-elves from gaining hyper-flexibility in this way.
Look at the paragraph directly above the one you quote, though.

"If you are a member of a class that can use a wand as an implement, you can apply the enhancement bonus of a wand to the attack rolls and the damage rolls of any of your powers from that class that have the implement keyword, and you can use a wand’s properties and powers. Members of other classes gain no benefit from wielding a wand."

The paragraph you quote goes on to further restrict the usage of wands to also require knowing a power of the same source (probably to allow for future wand-implement classes from non-arcane power sources).

Looks like you need both a power from the same source as the wand and need to be able to use implements.
 

Look at the paragraph directly above the one you quote, though.

"If you are a member of a class that can use a wand as an implement, you can apply the enhancement bonus of a wand to the attack rolls and the damage rolls of any of your powers from that class that have the implement keyword, and you can use a wand’s properties and powers. Members of other classes gain no benefit from wielding a wand."

The paragraph you quote goes on to further restrict the usage of wands to also require knowing a power of the same source (probably to allow for future wand-implement classes from non-arcane power sources).

Looks like you need both a power from the same source as the wand and need to be able to use implements.

I think the last segment of the sentance before the one you bolded is the more telling part, but I think I agree with you. Pity. :p

Of course that could lead to some weirdnesses too. Frex if your hypothetical non-arcane wand wielding class were to appear then a Half-elf of that class would normally be unable to use arcane wands. But if he grabs a power from the Sword-mage, who also cannot use arcane wands because wands aren't on his implement list, suddenly no arcane wands + no wands = can use arcane wands. :confused:
 

Looks like you need both a power from the same source as the wand and need to be able to use implements.

So our hypothetical half-elf fighter who has Magic Missile as an Encounter power can use the Daily power of the +2 Wand of Fiery Bolt to cast Fiery Bolt once per day, but can't use the wand to gain +2 to the attack and damage rolls of his Magic Missile, right?

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top