Heavy Artillery: Psion vs. Wizard

MM: 313-314 said:
Rake (ex): A creature with this special attack gains extra natural attacks when it grapples its foe. Normally a monster can attack with only one of its natural weapons while grappling, but a monster with the rake ability usually gains two additional claw attacks [314] that it can only use against a grappled foe. Rake attacks are not subject to the -4 penalty for attacking with a natural weapon in a grapple.
A monster with the rake ability must begin its turn grappling to use its rake--it can't begin a grapple and rake in the same turn.

While the restriction of grappling monsters to one natural attack is inappropriately buried in this glossary entry (thus providing one of the few bits of unclarity remaining in the core grapple rules which are otherwise quite clearly presented in 3.5), the glossary seems an entirely reasonable place to put a complete description of rake. This is hardly a 3e heavy crossbowism.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I am guessing that you were addressing me, although your post does nothing to address my point. ::shrugs::

Specific overrides the general. We all know that rakes can be used in a grapple. Rake even says that it can only be used in a grapple. Improved grab overrides this description in a couple of ways.

Specific overrides the general.
 

There are other ways to get Rake to use, like Pounce.

I'd also read it that Improved Grab does not allow a creature to Rake immediately, tho, that's far from clear admittedly and certainly works either way.

Maybe it's also a specific advantage of pouncy creatures like the Dire Lion, since the Annis Hag, for example, does not have the Rake part in her Improved Grab description. *shrug*

Bye
Thanee
 


We're talking about dire lion Psions vz tiger wizards here, right? Just trying to stay on-topic. :)
 
Last edited:



Yeah, OTOH, the description of the Annis Hag's Rake ability seems to have very little to do with the rake description in the glossary. It really looks like an almost completely different ability given the same name. The Sahuaghin's rake ability is similar in that regard. Only the pouncy rake creatures seem to have anything like the ability described in the glossary.

Thanee said:
There are other ways to get Rake to use, like Pounce.

I'd also read it that Improved Grab does not allow a creature to Rake immediately, tho, that's far from clear admittedly and certainly works either way.

Maybe it's also a specific advantage of pouncy creatures like the Dire Lion, since the Annis Hag, for example, does not have the Rake part in her Improved Grab description. *shrug*

Bye
Thanee
 

Remove ads

Top