Shard O'Glase said:
That's how I remembered it too, though this may be an obvious comment if you had 4 attacks form bab you could choose to go claw,claw,claw,claw but at the 0,-5,10,-15 to your attack rolls rule form BAB. Where with the attack routine frequently it was 0,0,-2 for a claw,claw, bite routine.
Yep. If you look further in MotW, you'll also notice that there is a wildshape feat that is available to wildshaper-enabled folks, which reduces the penalty on that last attack.
This feat would be nonsensical if you didn't have the natural attack routine, including the number of attacks/round, associated with the creature you change into.
-Skaros