Hex Warrior Feature Question

Interesting question, - Pact of the blade Pg. 107 PHB says it is a melee weapon. You choose the form it takes. It can be a magic weapon that you've bonded to. Xanathar's guide Pg. 56 says when you can use the Hew Warrior ability, 'Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed property.' but then says specifically, 'If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon's type.' does this mean that if it's a melee weapon and you conjure it with your pact of the blade feature, it doesn't need to lack the two handed property? In effect, if you are Pact of the Blade and Hexblade patron can you conjure a polearm or greatword and then apply the Hex Warrior feature to it?
 

jmartkdr

Villager
This is correct; starting at level 3 you can use charisma to attack with halberds.

Alternatively, you can still select a different weapon at the end of each long rest, in addition to your pact blade, to apply Hex Warrior to. Thus allowing dual-wielding handaxes with charisma.
 

Undrhil

Explorer
You can even have it work with a magic ranged weapon. My Hexblade "sling fighter" has an Ild Rune sling that he uses as his Pact of the Blade weapon. It deals an extra 1d6 fire damage on a hit, which really adds up over time.
 
A glaive is a sword on a stick, a halbard is an axe on a stick. :cool:

NB, a way to abuse this ability: summon an elven double bladed scimitar from Eberron.
 

Advertisement

Top