How do I pick up an item in an opponents square

James McMurray said:
Yeah, as mentioned by me. No need to point it out to the guy that said it. ;)
Your followup said:
"Found it in the FAQ. Basically it says "it's up to the DM."

Which is technically true (for that and any rule), but it seemed a bit misleading (and so in need of restatement... especially in regard to your original statement, which is why I quoted it instead of your latter post).
 

log in or register to remove this ad


RigaMortus2 said:
I like that FAQ ruling, because it calls out how it would work according to the RAW, and then suggests an alternate way it can be ruled, calling that out as a house rule. This is a good example of what the FAQ was meant to do IMHO.
I like it too, and I don't say that very often... :D


glass.
 

After letting you folks pick at the statements for a few days - let Me recap the thread and had out a summary; starting with the origonal thread.

Edited for punctuation -

How would a rogue with a good tumble pick up a weapon that had recently been disarmed from an opponent?

The rules put the recently disarmed weapon in the square with of the opponent, so is there some way to tumble in and pick up the weapon? Tumble mostly talks of moving through the space, but the rogue would need to move before and after picking up the item. He cannot stay in the occupied square, I don't think. Would this require Spring Attack or something? That seems like overkill to me, though.

The actual question here is

How do I try to get the weapon in my posession while threatened and if possible not provoke an AoO under the rules as written?

What is decided clearly is that if you do Provoke the AoO and take damage concentration decides wether or not you still succeed in completing the act.

The debate is on the "and if possible" portion of the statement. What is clear is that the player is trying to figure out what skill would be applicable to this attempt.

Check: You must make a Concentration check whenever you might potentially be distracted (by taking damage, by harsh weather, and so on) while engaged in some action that requires your full attention.

Special: Concentration cannot help avoid AoOs for actions that are not listed in it's description: casting a spell, concentrating on an active spell, directing a spell, using a spell-like ability, or using a skill that would provoke an attack of opportunity.

There are actually two "skills" that a character can generally use in conjunction with any "move" action - hide and move silently. A third skill to consider in this case is sleight of hand. If you invoke any of these at all, the problem is you get to a paradox as you are both performing a move and using a skill simultaneously.

Use of the hide skill on the unattended object (see bluff as well for how you get the hide even if observed) would result in the item being concealed (potentially) on your person.

Use of the move silently skill is "out of character" for such a check unless you are dealing with a character that is trying to practice "ninjitsu" or something similar.

Use of sleight of hand would allow you to pick the item off, even if it were on another character. It would also result in the item being concealed on your person if you made the check.

Now, the fact that you are doing these things while threatened you can also declare to use any of the above three skills "defensively" - enter concentration. The PLAYER is clearly looking for something that would help him, but doesn't know what that is. This is where the DM has to stop being a Judge for a moment and become a Teacher.

TheGogMagog said:
I'm completely baffled Gerion. Either I'm compltely misunderstanding your argument, or welcome from the Wotc boards.

Picking up an item is a move action, not a skill. Hence not covered under concentration. The portion of concentration that does allow you to avoid attacks of opportunity explicitly excludes all actions.

Yep. This is the kind of thing I definitely see going on, and I don't go anywhere near WOTC boards. First off, casting a spell, concentrating on an active spell, directing a spell, and using a spell-like ability, are all explicitly actions of some for of another. Using a skill, may or may not be - depending on the skill.

The portion of concentration that does allow you to avoid attacks of opportunity explicitly excludes all action categories not listed under concentration.

Yes, it does that - but the player here hasn't asked you how does he use the move action "pick up an item" at all. This is where you get off into "reach" tangent - trying to decide exactly where the character has to be standing in order to perform the move action "pick up an item". You read it literally because you are looking at the actual words - not the intent of the core question:

How does a player try to get the weapon in my posession while threatened and if possible not provoke an AoO under the rules as written?

The "other skills" mentioned above are where things have to start; and you have to be careful not to hit a nasty ugly paradox of inconsistency from "groupthink" reading. Play some Pink Floyd - and remember that most of the been around a while players have a TSR/WOTC education. It took quite some time before the "Learned Publishers" realized they forgot to admit the rule that Saving Throws always succeed on a 20 and fail on a 1.

for now - that's all; gtg
 

What is decided clearly is that if you do Provoke the AoO and take damage concentration decides wether or not you still succeed in completing the act.

When was this decided clearly? There's nothing to indicate that getting hit cancels the pick up action. Getting hit cancels some actions, but not all of them.

Use of the hide skill on the unattended object (see bluff as well for how you get the hide even if observed) would result in the item being concealed (potentially) on your person.

I believe you meant Sleight of Hand, which says nothing about letting you hide items you haven't picked up. I assume they're meant to teleport to you?
 

Yes, it does that - but the player here hasn't asked you how does he use the move action "pick up an item" at all. This is where you get off into "reach" tangent - trying to decide exactly where the character has to be standing in order to perform the move action "pick up an item". You read it literally because you are looking at the actual words - not the intent of the core question:

How does a player try to get the weapon in my posession while threatened and if possible not provoke an AoO under the rules as written?

The "other skills" mentioned above are where things have to start; and you have to be careful not to hit a nasty ugly paradox of inconsistency from "groupthink" reading. Play some Pink Floyd - and remember that most of the been around a while players have a TSR/WOTC education. It took quite some time before the "Learned Publishers" realized they forgot to admit the rule that Saving Throws always succeed on a 20 and fail on a 1.
So, if I understand correctly, you are saying that a character can pick up an item without using the "Pick up an item" action? Instead, the character can use a skill during a move action to pick up an item?

How does your argument work for other situations? Suppose my rogue character wants to use the tumble skill to somersault into an opponent, push him backward, and deal a bunch of damage. I claim by an argument similar to your own that my rogue is not using the bull rush action because my rogue is using the tumble skill as part of his move. I also claim that the rogue can deal damage with his tumble once for every 5 feet of movement by pushing the opponent back 5 feet, moving in and pushing him back another 5 feet until I run out of movement. My rogue does not have to attack because his is using tumble skill during his movement.

Obviously this is absurd. If you want to attack, you use an attack action. If you want to pick up an item, you use the pick up an item action.

I would also note that when you use concentration to do something defensively, you never provoke attacks of opportunity even if you fail the concentration check.
 

James McMurray said:
When was this decided clearly? There's nothing to indicate that getting hit cancels the pick up action. Getting hit cancels some actions, but not all of them.

Yeah. About the only ways I can see an AoO preventing you from picking something up is if it caused you to be helpless (knocked you unconscious, killed you, paralyzed you, etc), or caused you to be too far away (some sort of Knockback effect that works on an AoO, say).

Dealing a few points of damage won't cause the action to fail or force a Concentration check, because it doesn't state such. (Compare Grapple or Disarm, where damage causes the action to fail, or Cast a Spell, where damage forces a Concentration check. Pick Up an Item has neither consequence listed.)

-Hyp.
 

How does your argument work for other situations? Suppose my rogue character wants to use the tumble skill to somersault into an opponent, push him backward, and deal a bunch of damage. I claim by an argument similar to your own that my rogue is not using the bull rush action because my rogue is using the tumble skill as part of his move. I also claim that the rogue can deal damage with his tumble once for every 5 feet of movement by pushing the opponent back 5 feet, moving in and pushing him back another 5 feet until I run out of movement. My rogue does not have to attack because his is using tumble skill during his movement.

Actually - the rogue may very well be doing both - the tumble to make the approach into the square and then "Attacking" via the bull rush. I can't follow the hypothetical as you have it written.

I would also note that when you use concentration to do something defensively, you never provoke attacks of opportunity even if you fail the concentration check.

correct - you fail to perform the activity if you fail the concentration check.

What is decided clearly is that if you do Provoke the AoO and take damage concentration decides wether or not you still succeed in completing the act.

Alright, you try and pick up a sword... and I will hit your hand with my warhammer as you try it. Shall we experiment and see if the pain can make you let go? *warhammer ready whenever you are*

Yeah. About the only ways I can see an AoO preventing you from picking something up is if it caused you to be helpless (knocked you unconscious, killed you, paralyzed you, etc), or caused you to be too far away (some sort of Knockback effect that works on an AoO, say).

Dealing a few points of damage won't cause the action to fail or force a Concentration check, because it doesn't state such.

Ok, as every possible occurrence is always clearly and totally covered under "The Rules", we don't ever have to debate anything at all. :confused:

Also, same test - will repeat expirement as often as needed against as many people want to try. Personally, I learned that when I reached in for the extra cookie after mom said NO - it was kinda hard to keep a good grip when My hand got smacked. I can kinda see the warhamer doing a lot worse. Just me tho - anybody else see it that way?
 

Gerion of Mercadia said:
Alright, you try and pick up a sword... and I will hit your hand with my warhammer as you try it. Shall we experiment and see if the pain can make you let go? *warhammer ready whenever you are*
Seems a lame argument to me when you consider D&D's abstract hit point paradigm. After all, the strike could be on another body part or not even really strike at all.
 

So...

So, it seems pretty clear that a character can pick up an item in an adjacent square. I feel like I led many posters astray with my reference to tumbling through and spring atttacks. My question was premised on the misconception that you had to move into the opponent's square to pick up the item - thus tumble etc. was to avoid the AoO for that move not the "pick up an item" move.

The lingering question of whether concentration is required to complete the "pick up an item" action when an AoO hits also seems clear to me. I would not have considered concentration necessary to allow me to pick up the item in my own square even if hit by an AoO. It would simply be a consequence of the action, kind of like rummaging in my pack or drinking a potion.
 

Remove ads

Top